Tokyobling's Blog

Armored 18th Century Peacock – 和田典子

Posted in National Art Center by tokyobling on March 28, 2009

I know it’s a little bit cheap, but I loved this one. I loved it so much that I dared a girl passing by to tell me it wasn’t one of the coolest concepts in the whole exhibition. She agreed. Of course, she later told me that she is also an antique samurai armor nut, and showed me a picture of her posing in a black samurai armor, katana drawn and all! This picture is executed in the style of the battle paintings that were so popular in Japan from around the 14th century to the 18th century. I loved it, and if I’m ever rich I’ll look up the artist and buy it. Or have a real one made for my pet peacock that I will most certainly own. Someday.

Armored Peacock by Noriko Wada

Armored Peacock by Noriko Wada


Armored Peacock - Noriko Wada

Armored Peacock - Noriko Wada

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Low Bi Hong said, on March 29, 2009 at 8:53 am

    This one is cool. The Samurai Peacock. I like it too.

  2. [...] might also want to check out the Samurai (armored) peacock featured in an earlier post on this blog. An albino peacock in Yokohama A very ordinary peacock in [...]

  3. Nymatha Hartzog said, on March 31, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    I really really like this, thank you for your beautiful art!!!

    • tokyobling said, on April 1, 2011 at 1:28 am

      Thanks! If I ever meet the artist I’ll make sure to pass your comment on!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,473 other followers

