Tokyobling's Blog

An Old Beauty

Posted in Animals, Places by tokyobling on December 18, 2009

On my way somewhere, passing through Ameyokocho between JR Ueno and JR Okachimachi stations on the Yamanote line in North-central Tokyo I saw this elderly beauty hanging out on the street corner – a 12 year old chihuahua. Her owner assured me that she was in tip-top health, never been sick, and I was happy to spend a minute playing with her. Tokyo is not always as cold and inhospitable as people may tell you. As long as you take your time and smile, people will usually smile back. Still, it helps that I consider myself rather lucky with old ladies and dogs!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gregoireb said, on December 19, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Nice pics! I’ve found in most places here in the US, folks respond well to a smile and a kind word… Glad to hear it’s true elsewhere.

    Like

  2. tokyobling said, on December 22, 2009 at 12:05 am

    I don’t know what it is about Americans, but I have had more smiles and friendly conversations in Tokyo, with American tourists, than I have had with local Japanese! I think all American should be proud of the fact that few people can beat you when it comes to down-to-earth friendliness.

    Like

  3. gregoireb said, on December 22, 2009 at 2:22 am

    That’s good to hear! But it’s not all that common on the streets of the larger cities here in America!! lol

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on December 22, 2009 at 3:39 am

      Maybe people get friendlier when they come abroad? I remember one old American lady I met in a fancy Tokyo shopping mall who stopped me to explain the health benefits of various forms of miso soup paste on sale. It was long and I am not certain she was correct but it was fun to talk to her. Her daughter looked very embarrassed though. Or the group of large Texans in their 60’s complete with white Stetson hats and huge bear bellies sporting facial hair like Colonel Sanders who all trooped past me in a narrow side street in Akihabara and everyone tipped his hat and greeted me. Fun fun fun!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,557 other followers

