Tokyobling's Blog

Keeping the Streets Clean

Posted in Places by tokyobling on February 17, 2010

Here’s one other reason why I love Tokyo more than any other city on Earth: people actually takes care of the neighborhood they live or work in! In many bigger commercial areas of Tokyo the local stores and companies take turn going out on the streets for some above-and-beyond street cleaning, all volunteer of course. These girls and guys were walking around picking up litter, trash and cigarette butts in Ueno, obviously not professional street cleaners but look at that pavement when they are done! In Japan many store owners take the area around their store very seriously and often you will see shop staff out sweeping the street or picking up litter. It makes sense, doesn’t it? Who wants to enter a shop if you have to navigate your way around gum, empty cans and cigarette butts? I don’t. And of course the street cleaning teams reflect the nature of their area, in an old shopping street the cleaners are not likely to be a day under 80, while in Tokyo’s redlight district Kabukicho, many of the street cleaners are transvestites and transsexuals decked up in yellow coats, fish net stockings and high heels! What a great way to attract customers and keeping even the dirtiest area sparkling clean. I wish more Western cities could do this.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gregoire Bolduc said, on February 21, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful if places of business in the US did that?? Leave it to the Japanese to take true pride in their businesses!!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on February 22, 2010 at 12:34 am

      I read your comment on my mobile phone this morning as I was leaving my house, and I ran into my landlady busily sweeping the already pristine pavement outside of our house. Fantastic indeed. If I ever move out of Japan this is on tradition I will bring with me. I don’t think you live in a big city but I think everyone should take 5 minutes a day to clean up outside of their home, what a difference it would make! Time to start a grassroots movement perhaps?

      Like

  2. melwah said, on March 7, 2012 at 2:59 am

    *sigh* I absolutely love Tokyo, Ueno in particular. The respect that everyone shows not only for each other, but for their homes and areas they live in, is truly amazing, and something that everyone should aspire to. Thank you for your wonderful blog- it’s so lovely to pretend I am back “home” instead of in Australia where I was born and still live.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      Thank you Melwah! I totally agree! And thank you so much for your kind comment! I appreciate it! (^-^)

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,224 other followers

