Tokyobling's Blog

Kids on Horses at Bajikoen

Posted in Animals, People, Places by tokyobling on November 9, 2010

For the last couple of months I have been planning a visit to Tokyo’s fantastic Bajikoen, the equestrian sports center of Japan! Alas, work and a generally overly optimistic view of my own capabilities as to being in two places at once, I have failed in these ambitions. So here’s some photos I took on my last visit, which happened to coincide with a Junior championship competition. The fun thing with junior championships is that you have kids on horses that are many times their own size, and these kids are all from 9 years to 15. Quite a variety! The first time I sat on a horse by myself I was also 9 years old, but I still can’t make it jump. The little guy in the first picture was amazing, very skilled despite being so young. No injuries this time either.

The equestrian center is in a place called Bajikoen, which literally means Horse Park, in the middle of Setagaya ward in the south of Tokyo. It’s a great place to escape to when you want to smell a bit of nature, see something different from steel, glass and concrete. If you’re an anime fan, as an added bonus you can visit the nearby house of Sazae-san!




2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie Robertson said, on November 9, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Wow, wonderful post! I also <3 horses and watching such a practice must have been delightful! (I'd also love to visit Sazae-san's house…) :D

    I had a headache and was feeling rather dull, but your post has cheered me up, as usual!

    • tokyobling said, on November 10, 2010 at 4:07 am

      Thanks! Glad to hear that you are feeling better! I can’t imagine a grumpy sick Julie though!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,533 other followers

