Tokyobling's Blog

Touch Screen Vending Machine

Posted in Places, Stuff by tokyobling on August 22, 2011

As noted in a few online foreign media there’s a new contender in town when it comes to the title King of the Vending Machines! Huge, grey and black, touch screen paneled machines have been cropping up here and there in and around Tokyo and the Kanto area, maybe even farther. They first appeared right after the March 11 earthquake and naturally they were all installed turned off, in order to save energy. Recently more and more of them are being turned on and while I still haven’t tried one myself, here’s two examples caught in the wild, the first one being at Tokyo’s Hachioji Station and the other one being in Kanagawa prefecture’s Odawara station. It’s is, as you can see, not advisable to shoot an LCD display with a polarizing filter on your camera and I still haven’t figured out a good way to shoot these screens with any kind of camera. I guess I will have to learn, unless some kind photographer reading this takes pity on me and gives me a helping hand with some advice (other than just stopping down like crazy). Next time you’re in Japan, give these machines a spin!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. May said, on August 23, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Yeahhhh anything is touch panel now!(hahaha!)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 23, 2011 at 4:29 am

      Indeed! What’s next, remote controls? (^-^)

      Like

  2. Konni said, on August 23, 2011 at 6:57 am

    OK, as I kind of “stole” your idea of presenting weird Japanese drinks (I guess we just share that interest…), I will accept the fact that here you wrote about something that has been waiting in my mental “blog posts that I finally have to write” drawer since I came back from Sendai in late July (cf. http://blog.nihonnikonni.com/2011/08/01/ein-festival-das-gar-keins-war/)… They do have one of those touchscreen monsters there, too. I was able to take a brief video about how it’s used. Watch out for it! Soon.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 24, 2011 at 12:12 am

      Cool. If you figure out how to get a good photo of these huge touch screens let me know! (^-^)

      Like

  3. Timi said, on August 23, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Oh yea, I knew it would come to this:D And the next stage is when it will understand what we say! I want to try the japanese vending machines!>.<

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 24, 2011 at 12:23 am

      Oh yes! Voice activated vending machines! I can imagine the kids who would hang around the machines and yell FANTA! whenever some old man tried to use it! haha…

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,204 other followers

