Tokyobling's Blog

Design Festa Autumn 2011

Posted in Design Festa 2009, Places by tokyobling on November 17, 2011

Just a few photos from last Sundays Design Festa, a wonderful event for makers, artists, designers and craftsmen from all over Japan (and quite a few from abroad) held twice yearly in Tokyo’s Odaiba district. There’s hundred if not thousands of exhibitors, some great, some very enthusiastic.

I got there early since I didn’t have much time to spend but even being 30 minutes early I met with this massive line of people, literally thousands of people lining up to get it. And I didn’t even have a prepaid ticket to get it! Luckily, for once in my life, being unprepared turned out to be the best thing since all these people lined up all had prepaid tickets! The line at the ticket booth was about 25 people and moved very quickly. I was in in no-time! I have already posted one paper crafter, and here’s one photo of a young lady designer and illustrator. I couldn’t look closer at her work since she was… not very talkative. For as long as I watched she stood immobile with what I thought was a bag but later I noticed her walking around with it, some sort of mask. Quite a few people watched me take her photo. From the look of it, it seems she had some really nice illustrations in her booth! Maybe next time I’ll catch her without the mask. If anyone talked to her, please let me know!


10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. penman said, on November 17, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I thought it was a bag. Ups. She’s really creative creating mask that looks like a bag. And she’s even more creative in eliciting people’s curiosity by wearing that mask/bag.

    • tokyobling said, on November 18, 2011 at 12:15 am

      Next time, if I see her there again I have to talk to her! (^-^)

  2. D... said, on November 18, 2011 at 1:08 am

    I’m confused, it’s a mask? I’m wondering if she’s doing this for the sake of her art, like she’s concealing her identity. Or maybe she’s shy? Or is this her way of creating interest, because now I’m really interested. I’m really unfamiliar with this art form, so I really don’t know what is what. Still confused, but really curious….

    • tokyobling said, on November 18, 2011 at 2:32 am

      Japanese artists are generally shy. Some of them do a lot of things for their art. They rarely care about generating interest. So, I guess the most rational answer is that she is shy. Occam’s razor! (^-^)

      • D... said, on November 18, 2011 at 4:16 am

        Oh, that’s a good idea go with Occam’s Razor, or else I would have kept coming up with silly ideas. I think it’s the peach that makes my mind wander. Although I can understand her wanting to keep her anonymity, and the entire shyness factor.

  3. karen_machida said, on November 18, 2011 at 4:30 am

    wow, i just love the second photo you took! Looks like some future city! The mask thing is a little scary- something about a mask that is but a bag like puts fear into my heart- i guess since when i did encounter that, that was like on some movie to cover a disfigurement .

    • tokyobling said, on November 18, 2011 at 5:03 am

      It’s a really cool place! I have blogged about it before I think. The lady designer was really brave I think. She stood like that motionless, without any way of seeing what was going on around her, probably fighting hard to keep her calm. I wouldn’t have dared to do it! She didn’t even flinch from the sound of my camera, which is really loud. The shutter can be heard from quite some distance!

      • penman said, on November 18, 2011 at 6:16 am

        Wow, now that you said that she stood motionless wearing that mask with many people looking at her and taking picture of her with curiosity, I agree, she is super brave. I wouldn’t even imagine myself doing that. Could you tell her that she is brave the next time you see her? Umm…please excuse my totally silly question here, but how can you tell she was a woman? I mean she wore a long sleeves and gloves. I don’t know if you can tell by her foot. Really sorry for asking stupid question. orz

        • tokyobling said, on November 18, 2011 at 6:43 am

          Haha… not a stupid question at all! She had a name tag, and later I saw her walking around with the mask on but opened so that she could see where she was going. (^-^)

          • penman said, on November 18, 2011 at 7:01 am

            Thanks for answering. Now my mind is in peace. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,512 other followers

