Tokyobling's Blog

This Winter’s Fashion Item?

Posted in People, Places by tokyobling on November 28, 2011

I’ve been searching for months what the fashion item most popular here in Tokyo this autumn is but there doesn’t seem to be anything, not like the stockings of two years ago or the fur boots of last year’s. But I think I have a clue: the slouch hat! I see maybe once a day on the streets of Tokyo’s more fashionable areas, more so than any other headwear, so although it is not much of a trend, it’s certainly something! I am a little bit miffed that my deer stalker prediction hasn’t come true yet though! I saw this young lady in Shinjuku early this month.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julia said, on November 28, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I’m so happy I found your blog, I’ll be checking it out from my bookmarks! (Sorry I don’t know how to subscribe to wordpress!) I really admire your photography skills and style. :)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 28, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      Kiitos kiitos! Thank you for the kind words… I really like the picture you have on your blog right now! Hyvää yötä!

      Like

  2. Lillan said, on November 28, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Slokhatt hade jag på slutet av 60-talet. Med ölringar runt. Härligt att se igen. Fortsätt att plåta i ditt härliga Tokyo det finns tydligen hur mycket motiv som helst där.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      Tack Lillan! Allt kommer igen! (^-^)

      Like

  3. Timi said, on November 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Like a modern witch? I love witches :D (take it as a compliment)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm

      A sixties look maybe? I think this lady was more witchlike than the average slouch hat user (^-^;)

      Like

  4. dafarmer said, on November 29, 2011 at 1:35 am

    I miss the Tokyo fashions! Please put more shots on here. I loved it when the zuri shoes were in fashion.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 29, 2011 at 1:51 am

      I never noticed that particular trend! (^-^;) Thanks for the kind comment! I’ll try to do more fashion/trend-spotting over the winter. (^-^)

      Like

  5. D... said, on November 29, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Aw, I like the deerstalker. But maybe the slouchy hat is easier to coordinate? Maybe the deerstalker requires certain “acutramon”? The slouchy hat is very 70′s and that is big this season. But when isn’t the 70′s lurking about?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 30, 2011 at 1:12 am

      I think you are right. There are probably good reasons the deerstalker hasn’t been in vogue with women since… eh… ever?

      Like

  6. penman said, on December 1, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Yay slouch hat!! it never failed to cover my bad hair day. btw, check out her nails…

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on December 2, 2011 at 12:16 am

      Oh, didn’t even notice them! She must have had them done recently, looks fantastic.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,133 other followers

