Tokyobling's Blog

Tomorrow – Tokyo Marathon

Posted in Places by tokyobling on February 25, 2012

Walking in Ginza towards Tsujiki this afternoon I noticed that preparations for tomorrows huge event – the Tokyo Marathon – was in full swing. Here’s a group of functionaries discussing strategies and setting up a way station. The runners will be passing not 100m from where I live so I will try to go out and cheer them on, and hopefully get some photos! If you are very rich and have a car in Tokyo, tomorrow might be good day to leave it in he garage, a lot of roads will be closed of for traffic! On another note, Japanese are remarkably good long distance runners! Most Japanese students run at least one half marathon and many schools arrange full length marathons once or twice a year. I don’t think this would be even remotely possible in Europe! In almost any group of Japanese people there’s a few whom you’d never believe to be very athletic that has run the marathon a few times in their lives. At first I simply didn’t believe them, especially not when my podgy colleagues talked about it but now that I have seen just how good they are at long distance running I take them much more seriously. I still like to remind them that the first human to run the marathon, Phidippides, actually died of fatigue after completing the run! I think the Japanese have the perfect mix of endurance and pride to be excellent marathon runners. Tomorrow will be fun!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on February 25, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    I look forward to your photos. My husband used to run marathons in Japan too.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      Thank you! I can imagine! He looks like the sporty type! (^-^)

      Like

  2. dafarmer said, on February 26, 2012 at 5:20 am

    I look forward to your photos! I can’t wait to knock out my first half marathon!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks! I didn’t know you were a runner… would be cool to see you run a half one in the desert! (^-^)

      Like

      • dafarmer said, on March 9, 2012 at 1:20 am

        I will be running on this October in Tucson so we’ll see how it goes. I can’t wait to finish moving so my son and I can begin our track to daily runs again.

        Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,285 other followers

