Tokyobling's Blog

A Tokyo Photo Walk

Posted in Places by tokyobling on April 3, 2012

One of the best ways to improve your health by a long day’s walk, improve your creativity and to improve your general mood is to go for a photo walk! During all my years with a camera, it had never struck me to just walk around with my camera and shoot randomly whatever I saw or encountered, until I came to Japan. I believe that this kind of photography is what the Japanese really excel at when it comes to image art, and it has taken me many years to even warm up to the idea of just shooting for fun and with no purpose, goal or set idea. It’s also possible to do photo walks anywhere in the world, alone or with friends or even total strangers. I believe it has become quite the art movement during the first decade of this century with organized worldwide photo walks held simultaneously all around the world. I have never joined any of those by I often go out with other camera happy friends, most recently in Tokyo a couple of weeks ago. These are just random photos from Tokyo station, Marunouchi and Ginza. I accept that I haven’t even begun to master the art of the photo walk, I am always amazed by the images my friends take, it really requires a special way of seeing to be able to get good results from a photo walk! Anyway, here’s mine. Enjoy!





9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on April 3, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    O, that happy afternoon after the rain which already seems years ago! I would like to see the photos of the man who was taking photos of the puddle. (He must be a master of photo walk.)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      He must have been one of the people who invented that whole art form! Japanese are masters of it, you took to it like fish in water I think… I still struggle to see freely and shoot freely! (^-^;)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie said, on April 3, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    I recently saw an André Kertész exhibition and he must have been one of the first :)

    It’s not really my cup of tea though, but I like a lot of your other pictures! You know that…

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Thank you Marie, you are very kind! I think Kertesz was far more artistic, I think the essence of the photo walk is the act of taking pictures rather than any results… but I haven’t seen that much of his work. (^-^;)

      Like

  3. Marie said, on April 3, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    To clarify, Kertész wasn’t my cup of tea either!

    Like

  4. dafarmer said, on April 4, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Wow very nice set! I love it! I wish to see what the man was photographing! I guess I’ll never know but it looks cool I wonder if he was catching himself or buildings or the sky? Or just maybe whatever was in the pool of water.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 4, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      Thank you Dina! I wish I could have seen his photo too! I didn’t want to sit down next to him and steal his idea though. But next time I see a similar scene I will try it out! (^-^)

      Like

  5. Timi said, on April 5, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    It’s as if the city is slowly waking up on the last pictures :D

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 5, 2012 at 11:19 pm

      Yes! I thought it looks like a miniature toy city… (^-^;)

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,213 other followers

