Tokyobling's Blog

Painter – Shunsuke Naruse

Posted in National Art Center by tokyobling on May 10, 2012

At the National Art Center near Roppongi and Tokyo Midtown I found this fantastic statue called Painter by young artist Shunsuke Naruse (成瀬駿介) of Tama Art University (or Tamabi for short). Everytime I see it, it reminds me of the very famous manga/anime, Ghost in the Shell. I really like how the statue is both a simple hodge podge of parts and wood spray painted white, as well as the essential pose for a kick ass anime hero. This is another piece I wouldn’t mind owning!






Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. danielwalldammit said, on May 10, 2012 at 4:36 am

    Awesome piece!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Thank you for the comment Daniel! It’s a great piece! (^-^)

      Like

  2. pk1154 said, on May 10, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Interesting, but I don’t get a Ghost in the Shell feel. Made me think of Ergo Proxy. Hard to explain why, though. Perhaps it is the slight cyber-punk edge.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2012 at 1:26 pm

      Oh, I made a mistake! Not Ghost in the Sheel, but rather Appleseed! Sorry for my mistake… I keep getting them mixed up! (^-^;)

      Like

      • pk1154 said, on June 2, 2012 at 11:39 am

        Ah, Appleseed would make more sense. (It is by the same mangaka as Ghost in the Shell.)

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on June 2, 2012 at 3:56 pm

          Yes… I was too quick typing that one out… (^-^;) But that mangaka is close to genius!

          Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,198 other followers

