Tokyobling's Blog

Rainbow Bridge – Ray of Light

Posted in Places by tokyobling on June 22, 2012

It’s midsummer’s eve and apart from a couple of typhoons the Tokyo summer is really perfect this year – not too hot, not too humid! It’s going to be a great summer to spend in the city! Here’s Rainbow bridge, bathed in the last sunlight of the day. I took this a couple of weeks ago, but I should have gotten it for the spectacular post-typhoon sunsets we’ve had the last few days! There’s a larger version here for download.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. C said, on June 22, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Ah, only someone from a certain part of Europe would mention Midsummer ;) (I tried having a Midsummer party once in the US and people were confused, especially with the food! If anything, a solstice party would have made more sense…)

    Does Japanese culture have something for solstice/change of season time?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 23, 2012 at 7:27 am

      Yes, we have solstice festivals and events here too, but nothing as big as that midsummers party! I don’t really miss it though. My memories are more filled with rain and snow than anything else… (^-^;)

      Like

      • C said, on June 24, 2012 at 1:47 am

        It only seemed big in Sweden. Norway and Denmark, not so much (or at all). Only remembered Sun once in the 3-4 times I happened to be around, so yeah…rainy and gray. But snow?!

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:16 am

          There was a freak snow storm once when I was a kid up in the north, I think that’s technically impossible where you hung out, down south! (^-^)

          Like

  2. D... said, on June 23, 2012 at 4:44 am

    Is there a more etherial sight than the sun breaking through clouds. Right now I can’t think of another (although I am sure when one presents itself I will think the most of it at that time too, fickle right?).

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 23, 2012 at 7:29 am

      Fickle is the new normal! (^-^)

      Like

  3. Sven said, on June 23, 2012 at 10:16 am

    What a great photo! I wish to go there again, hopefully next year. Now, from Sweden, the very heartland of Midsummer partying, I can report that in the Stockholm area we had lovely weather yesterday, but now the rain from the south has come upon us.

    Like

    • C said, on June 24, 2012 at 1:46 am

      Typical Stockholmer, blaming stuff on Skåne ;)

      Like

      • Sven said, on June 24, 2012 at 8:06 am

        In Skåne they blame it on Poland.

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:17 am

          Haha… excellent comeback! (^-^)

          Like

          • C said, on July 19, 2012 at 4:24 am

            This reminds me of what folks would say in Tennessee: thank god for Alabama. They’d then say, thank god for Mississippi. At that point, I thought we hit the bottom of the barrel, but apparently they say thank god for Louisiana! (Which I don’t agree with: New Orleans was and still is fab)

            I guess Poland would blame it on…Bulgaria? Ukraine? Doesn’t seem as catchy…

            Like

          • tokyobling said, on July 19, 2012 at 4:27 pm

            In another time I would have loved to visit Tennessee. Now I will settle for your wit, C! (^-^)

            Like

      • tokyobling said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:15 am

        Hahaha… that is a witty comment if ever I saw one! (^-^;)

        Like

        • C said, on July 28, 2012 at 3:59 am

          I’m not sure why anyone would want to visit TN unless they’re into heat, humidity, kudzu, trailer parks, churches, country music, Elvis, overalls, SUVs, mosquitoes, Bible colleges, fried food, thick accents, revivals, Confederate flag stickers next to gun racks on the back of pickup trucks…and mullets. Oy gevalt, the mullets…

          There is the Jack Daniels distillery (in a dry county) and the Civil Rights Museum and antebellum homes and awesome BBQ, but not sure that warrants a visit.

          Someday you should do a “Tokyobling does America” special blog feature and have a real roadtrip out here!

          Like

          • tokyobling said, on August 12, 2012 at 4:40 pm

            I have always had a soft spot for a proper mullet so why not? (^-^) It will be on my Tokyobling American Roadtrip! (^-^;)

            Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:14 am

      Thanks for the kind comment Sven! I hope you get a chance to come back soon. I got updates about the summer situation in Stockholm, it seems to be a lot of rain for very little sun shine this year!

      Like

  4. Follow the Rising Sun said, on July 3, 2012 at 6:18 am

    Lovely Photo!

    It amazes me that you managed to catch it without any of the navigation lights going off.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 18, 2012 at 10:14 am

      Thank you! I think they weren’t on in another few minutes after I took this photo… (^-^)

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,298 other followers

