Tokyobling's Blog

Soft Drink Mayhem

Posted in Shops, Stuff by tokyobling on November 2, 2012

Ok, I know I am being a bad boy here – you are not supposed to take pictures inside convenience stores, but look at it as free advertising. Just look at this mayhem of soft drinks! Can any country top Japan’s fantastic convenience stores? I’d like to direct your attention to one in particular, the most expensive one, that is nothing less than the first Ichigo Daifuku soft drink (あまおう大福ミルク)! Joy oh joy! Whatever will they think of next? Being a penny pincher though, I actually opted, this time, for the chupa chups one (top right), that actually tasted like drinking lolipops. Just like the Fanta I blogged about a couple of days ago. This autumn is proving to be a bonanza for weird soft drink lovers like me! Oh, and you can tell hard core soft drink lovers by them always starting with the paper package drink sections: cheaper and with a faster turn over!

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on November 2, 2012 at 4:22 am

    Waaa, I can’t imagine what Ichigo Daifuku Milk tastes like! What about White Rose Coffee? Does it really taste like rose? Japanese are good at coming up with catchy names like Chupa Chups.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 16, 2012 at 5:35 am

      I haven’t tried the white rose one! It’s coming up on my list! (^-^)

      Like

  2. Mridula said, on November 2, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Nice names, they must taste good as well !:-)

    Like

  3. akirawolf said, on November 2, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    Erm, one question here. Why is it not allowed to take pictures inside convenience stores?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 16, 2012 at 5:38 am

      I don’t know! But every time a manager catches me doing it I get told off… (^-^;) The staff don’t want to bother themselves with a potential argument though… (^-^)

      Like

  4. Hangaku Gozen said, on November 2, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I like the milk coffee drinks, but everything else is too sweet for me. The Japanese idea of sweet is different from the US one. I have a hard time explaining it to people who’ve never tried, say, Japanese-style chocolate or soft drinks like Calpis: but to me, a Japanese woman raised in the US, the flavor is more honey- or fruit-like. It reminds me of Japanese manju or anko, sweet red bean paste. (And now that I’m thinking of it, I have a major craving for anpan!)

    A friend brought back a Japanese Kit Kat bar for me to try, and it was very different from its American counterpart. Maybe there was more milk powder in the chocolate, but it wasn’t as rich.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 16, 2012 at 5:39 am

      Indeed it is different and it takes some getting used to. But I have learned to love it! Most people take to it right away though. (^-^)

      Like

  5. Christoffer Lernö (@nuoji) said, on November 2, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    Convenience stores in Taiwan are very similar. Makes Swedish stores look sad.

    Like

  6. Timi said, on November 3, 2012 at 8:57 am

    I’m still wondering how come we never have any of these innovative drinks… :| I want to try these too. (T_T)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 16, 2012 at 5:42 am

      Hahaha… what is the major producer in your country? Maybe you should become a product manager? (^-^)

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,141 other followers

