Tokyobling's Blog

Taiko Drummers – Yushima Tenjin

Posted in Japanese Traditions, People, Places by tokyobling on August 24, 2013

Just at the start of this year I blogged about a chance walk in on a performance by the fantastic taiko group Yushima Tenjin Shiraume Taiko group (湯島天神白梅太鼓), and a few months ago I had the chance to see them again at the Yushima Tenjin festival in Tokyo’s Taito Ward. They performed three complete sets at the back of the shrine, all the times with the same energy and smiles! Japanese taiko drumming is a quite physical experience to see. You can feel the drums in your stomach and if you stand too close you can feel the air pounding in your ears. It is a fantastic form of music! The performances I saw this time was almost totally done by women, except for one young man. I really hope I can catch them again a few times this year!

Usually when I take photos I never bother cropping them when I edit them. I try to do all my cropping before I take the photo. Sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t. I prefer my photos un-cropped not only because they look more “true” in my eyes (as if the physical act of acquiring a subject, composing in your viewfinder and then pressing the trigger to have your computer analyze a sensor image and interpret it for you wasn’t quite far removed from truth anyway) but also because it saves me a lot of time not to worry too much about cropping in post processing. Sometimes you’ll see a photo with a very strange composition, usually it is not me trying to be arty, rather it is just that I tried to avoid taking photos of something just outside the photo frame!

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0240

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0406

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0418

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0427

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0462

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0512

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0626

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0631

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0639

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0640

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_0674

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9703

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9715

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9742

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9818

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9830

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9851

shiraume_taiko_drummers_yutenjin_9986

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. zoomingjapan said, on August 24, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    I enjoyed these photos a lot.
    I’m such a huge taiko fan, I can never get enough of it! :)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 25, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      Thank you! Taiko is always fun to watch, the closer the better! (^-^)

      Like

  2. planetjamez said, on August 24, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Love the vibrant colours and essence of atmosphere

    Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,965 other followers

