Tokyobling's Blog

Motomishima Shrine Festival – Uguisudani

Posted in Japanese Traditions, People, Places by tokyobling on May 23, 2014

Yesterday I blogged about the tiny Motomishima shrine (元三島神社) in Tokyo’s Uguisudani district just north-east of Ueno. For being such a minor shrine the annual festival was surprisingly lively with a a fully manned omikoshi making large rounds around the area. I have read that the Negishi area (where the shrine is located) is famous for having preserved a lot of its original Edo era populations, many families living there today has been in the area for hundreds of years. This would explain the lively participation! I only found this festival by luckily walking past a poster for it on my way to another festival.

I managed to get up on a pedestrian overpass to get some photos from above. Technically you are not supposed to look at an omikoshi from above, and although many people flaunt this rule out of respect I didn’t take take any photos of the omikoshi itself as it passed underneath me. The people carrying it is another matter altogether though!

In a coming post I will write more about Uguisudani and the neighborhood of Negishi (根岸). Until then, enjoy!

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5402

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5423

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5437

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5550

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5581

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5596

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5615

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5630

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5643

motomishima_jinja_matsuri_5652

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pk1154 said, on May 23, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    I love the picture of the little boy “helping.” Too cute!

    (I’m guessing that is his grandfather, but don’t want to make assumptions!)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 5, 2014 at 2:47 am

      I think you are right, I remember the parents walking next to me as I took this photo. (^-^)

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,445 other followers

