Tokyobling's Blog

The Second Hello Kitty Bling Bus!

Posted in Stuff by tokyobling on May 24, 2009

Friends, I’ve done it! I’ve captured the second of three totally blinged out Hello Kitty buses. Whom of my smart readers will be the first to figure out all the places she is supposed to represent in the different get-ups? Tokyo transport does it again! As an earlier commenter posted: “there’s no excuse for hitting into this bus!”.

Blinged out Hato Bus - Hello Kitty in Tokyo

Blinged out Hato Bus - Hello Kitty in Tokyo

Tagged with: ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dorothy said, on May 27, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    i love your blog; you post tons of interesting stuff!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 30, 2009 at 3:09 am

      Thank you Dorothy! I saw your blog too but I made me really hungry… Love your pictures from Taiwan! I have to go to that cafe someday! I think that there is a Hello Kitty Cafe in Tokyo but I have to find some teenage friends to go with (^-^)

      Like

  2. michaelpanda said, on June 1, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Actually, I believe all those Hello Kittys are themed from Asakusa, right? The red lantern (赤提灯) above the second wheel from the left is the famous one hanging in the Kaminarimon (雷門) entrance to Sensoji temple in Asakusa. I can’t quite make out the two little characters directly under it as they’re occluded by the wheel, but I’m guessing they’re just two matsuri-enjoying kitties in yukata.

    The two hello kitties to the left dressed as demons are, I believe, supposed to be “aun” (阿吽…? but I am really completely not sure about the kanji). If memory serves from the “Intro to Buddhism” class I took (or should I say, slept through) way back in university, those are Buddhist (or Sanskrit?) gods roughly equivalent to the western concept of “Alpha and Omega”. (like “beginning and the end”) (I’ve heard the phrase 阿吽の呼吸 (“aun no kokyuu”) before, which I believe means something like “being so in tune as to be able to understand what the other person is thinking even before they say it”/being in harmony) etc.

    At any rate, if you go to Kaminarimon outside of Sensoji temple in Asakusa, you can see these two guardian figures standing on either side of the entrance. I believe that is who the two leftmost kitties are supposed to represent. I’m pretty bad at this sort of religion/history stuff but I did find this page: http://www.aisf.or.jp/~jaanus/deta/a/aun.htm which seems to support this idea. 

    The hello kitty in the middle in the yellow outfit I’m guessing is the tour conductor girl and the ones to the right of her that look like geisha are in fact, geisha 😉

    I have no idea what is up with the one all the way to the right riding the little cat-horse, but the sign reads “仲見世” (“nakamise”), which is the name of the famous road (仲見世通り) lined with shops outside the front of Sensoji temple in Asakusa.

    *whew* goodness, I feel like I just finished sitting an exam in university hahahaha.

    Like

  3. ana said, on June 12, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    I shot the same bus two years ago – possibly the same location cause it looks very similar! Woohoo! 😀
    Nice blog btw. I just found it.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 17, 2009 at 9:57 am

      Thanks! Yeah, these buses have been around for a couple of years, it is right outside Tokyo station. I see them weekly, but I never have my camera with me.

      Like

  4. Teri Conrad said, on March 12, 2010 at 5:04 am

    I am creating a Hello Kitty fan page/web site for one of my college courses and I was wondering if I could use some of your ? If you can not grant permission, please help me and direct me to someone who can.
    Please and Thank You!
    T. Conrad

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 14, 2010 at 5:19 am

      Hi Teri! Thank you for your kind inquiry. I am intrigued by your college project. In what way do you want to use my posts/photos? As long as you mention the source (this blog) and use the images in non-commercial projects I usually don’t mind people using my posts. But I’d love to hear more about it. I’ve sent you an email with more details. Thanks, Tokyobling

      Like

  5. Dorothy Gal said, on January 5, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    ez nagyon kitaj………………

    Like


Leave a Reply

