Tokyobling's Blog

Japan’s Death Valley – Part I

Posted in Nature, Places by tokyobling on October 1, 2009

I have an intense love of deserts. There is something in their clean, pure dryness that appeals to me. Naturally, Japan doesn’t have any proper deserts, but this Hell’s Valley in Japans Northern Alps come pretty close I think. In the middle of these mountains is a deserted valley practically steaming with volcanic activity. One valley in particular has an intense sulphuric smell with hot springs and steam vents that kill all vegetation in it’s path. When I stumbled upon this place I couldn’t help but want to linger! Unfortunately the volcanic gases in the bottom of the valley can get quite dangerous and passing through concentrated pockets can seriously risk your health and well being. But it was a spectacular, Martian landscap for me. This is what I want Mars to look like once we terraform a proper atmosphere onto it. Ah, I read too much SF. Enjoy! I will post part II in a couple of days.
DSC_0433
DSC_0617
DSC_0603
DSC_0449
DSC_0558

Tagged with: , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pk1154 said, on October 1, 2009 at 11:02 am

    There is something I love about deserts and savannah grasslands. Far horizons and clear skies. Austere, clean beauty.

    Well, I’ll be traveling soon, to New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, with my new camera. It’s appropriately designed for aging boomers (like me); auto-focus, image stabilization, and a large, bright view screen. A cheeky little brother to my long retired Olympus SLR film camera (their Stylus 9000).

    I bet it rains a lot.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on October 2, 2009 at 12:03 am

      Living cramped up in Tokyo like this has taught me more than ever the beauty of a horizon! I have never seen a proper horizon (from ground level) in Tokyo. I am sure you’ll enjoy New B and New S! Those names tell us how home sick the first settlers must have been. I still think that the best boomer camera is a large format Linhof! Olympus made great SLRs for film. My first camera ever was an 1960’s Olympus Trip 50. The full frame consumer version of the famous Pen. And the best 35mm pocket film cameras were always Olympus (barring the super brands like Leica or Contax).

      Oh, and I pray for rain! How else are you going to get those magnificent cloudy skies? Just try to be up at the crack of dawn!

      Like

  2. NikoDoby said, on October 2, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I love the colors! Were you shooting with a filter? I assume there are some very unpleasant aromas there.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on October 3, 2009 at 8:28 am

      Well, if you ever boiled an egg and then left it cracked open in the saucer for a couple of weeks you’ll get an idea! Mixed with a burning sensation in your throat and lungs. Not a pleasant place to linger. Gorgeous though. I had a C-PL filter to bring out the contrast in the skies, other than that there is not much PP on these images. It really is absurdly colorful out there!

      Like


Leave a Reply

