Tokyobling's Blog

Hayao Miyazaki Cosplay

Posted in Design Festa 2009 by tokyobling on May 30, 2010

This is possibly one of the greatest cosplay set ups I have ever seen – or could it really be the man himself? I couldn’t tell. It was just too well done. I just love his Tottoro themed pulley bag. What a great idea. I didn’t get his name but if you know him, tell him Tokyobling said hello!

If you don’t recognize him from the pictures, this man is dressing up like the Godfather of Japanese animation movies, Hayao Miyazaki. You can compare his costume with the real thing here.

Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie Robertson said, on May 30, 2010 at 3:41 am

    Haha, amazingly accurate costume! And I WANT that Totoro bag!!!! But wait, I’d be too depressed if the airline ruined him in the baggage. >_<

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:07 am

      It’s great isn’t it? He even acted the part, walked around with his hand in his pocket, looking grumpy all the time. Never said a word, just grunted and posed! haha… Yes, I think the Totoro cover goes into the bag before it goes into the airline… my moms bag was trashed just last month by AirFrance… and insurance doesn’t cover checked luggage! Strange.

      Like

  2. Yao Jia said, on May 30, 2010 at 11:06 am

    I agree with Julie!! I want that bag too!! I’ve been a big fan of Hayao Miyazaki’s work for a long time but personally I prefer Spirited Away even though I think Totoro is really adorable. Either ways, I wonder how old the dude actually is…really well done!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:09 am

      Hi Yao! I much prefer Miyazaki’s earlier work but I agree with you on these two movies. Spirited Away was sort of the essence of all his artistic vision and a mash of all his movies rolled into one. I saw Totoro when I was much too old to bond to it.

      Like

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Luke Plunkett, Rick F. Barnes. Rick F. Barnes said: Hayao Miyazaki Cosplay « Tokyobling's Blog http://bit.ly/cnxcLq […]

    Like

  4. Aysha said, on July 8, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    I’ve grown up with Miyazaki’s works, so he is like my anime father! lol
    I loved this cosplay, amazing!

    Like


Leave a comment