Tokyobling's Blog

Small Wings – Glider Over Tochigi

Posted in Places by tokyobling on March 21, 2011

Ok, so finally, let’s take a break from all the doom and gloom you guys are hearing and let’s go back to an old fashioned Tokyobling post! Like, they used to be before this earthquake business ruined the fun.

In January I was asked to volunteer on a photo shoot in Tochigi, there was to be a gorgeous model and some photography of machines involved. Nobody told me I would be flying until I stood on the landing field signing a paper that I wouldn’t hold them liable for any death due to high speed collision with ground (i.e. don’t get mad if we crash). Needless to say I was thrilled to get up in the wide blue yonder! I was busy shooting video most of the ride but I got a few shots of Tochigi prefecture under my winges, up at about 3000ft. And suddenly I remembered my old childhood dream of becoming a pilot. Well, one can dream. Still, it was a great way to spend an afternoon. If you are not broke and want to try something new, I recommend glider flying!






4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie (JUURI) said, on March 21, 2011 at 1:16 am

    Oh! Wonderful and superb~~~ So were there gorgeous human models after all, or were the planes the “models”? Did you feel airsick?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 28, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Ah, the human models are off limits for now…! I didn’t get airsick even though I was basically slowly circling to the ground. I get carsick, but for some reason I am fine on boats and planes! (^-^;)

      Like

  2. chorwin said, on March 23, 2011 at 10:42 am

    This is fantastic!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

