Tokyobling's Blog

Godzilla Statue

Posted in Places by tokyobling on May 23, 2011

Quite a few people have spent many years in Tokyo without ever once seeing the statue put up to honor one of the greatest “Japanese” of all time: Godzilla! I shouldn’t be hard on people though, it’s not really advertised in the tourist guides and although it is in the middle of a busy Hibiya square it is quite easy to miss. I still like seeing it every time I pass through the area though. This part of Tokyo is famous for entertainment, so with a lot of classic cinemas and theaters, having a Godzilla statue makes sense I guess. I would have loved it even more if it was life size though! Enjoy!



18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amblerangel said, on May 23, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    FINALLY!!!! I’ve been looking for this! I’ve seen literally HUNDREDS of King Kongs- but never a Godzilla- I must go find this….. Thank you oh Master of Tokyo.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 27, 2011 at 1:17 am

      Haha…. you are much too kind! Can we foresee a trip of the Angel herself with all the little offspring to the shores of Hibiya in the near future?

      Like

      • amblerangel said, on June 1, 2011 at 2:37 am

        Oh yea- found it- lots of pictures of everyone in various poses being attacked by the famous one himself- from below since he’s smaller than Tom Cruise. Typical Hollywood. (J’llywood)Even Godzilla isn’t as tall as he’s supposed to be..

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2011 at 6:30 am

          As I am sure Michael J Fox and Prince would agree, height doesn’t matter when you’re horizontal…! (^-^) Glad to hear you enjoyed posing with the statue, I trust you discovered the merits of playing with forced perspective as in the Leaning Tower Of Pisa or Kids In the Hall (“I crush your head….”) fame in order to compensate for the vertical shortcomings of the little bronze monster?

          Like

          • amblerangel said, on June 2, 2011 at 9:24 am

            I studied your pictures carefully before I set out with my trusty guide- Andretti-san- took note of the building in the background. Looked at your camera angles… Didn’t get the good color that you did- but hey- it’s a point and shoot. Now, just waiting for the right moment to combine my HUGE Godzilla with my King Kong shots…

            Like

          • tokyobling said, on June 10, 2011 at 4:15 am

            Ah, the epic battle! Who would win that fight?

            Colors are tricky… especially in that location where the statue is in a perpetual shadow and the sky is just a stamp sized box between the tall buildings looming in…

            Like

  2. Slouching Somewhere said, on May 24, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Would have wanted to see this when I was there so thanks for posting it 🙂 The last photo makes it look pretty big and menacing.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 27, 2011 at 1:18 am

      I was trying hard to get a good shot but I was with my coworkers and they won’t slow down for me to play with my camera…! I’ll try to get a better shot someday when I can bring some proper lighting!

      Like

  3. Timi said, on May 24, 2011 at 9:25 am

    Haha, too bad it’s so small:D
    It would be funny if it was real-life size, reaching up to some skyscrapers:o

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 27, 2011 at 1:21 am

      I’d love to work in a skyscraper that was about to be jumped by Godzilla…! But with the size of modern buildings here in Tokyo I think they would have to update the size of that monster…!

      Like

  4. Jennifer said, on May 24, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Love it!

    Like

  5. Romain said, on May 24, 2011 at 11:47 am

    AWESOME!!! They should plan to create à lifesize one like Gundam they done a do a fight with lightshow :D. You just make my day.

    ( You can also put some pictures of mask shop during matsuri and you will make my day twice in a week)

    Thanks this is great

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 27, 2011 at 1:27 am

      Thanks Romain! I wish they would! I would love to see a whole square in Tokyo dedicated to that! (^-^) Don’t worry, festival season is soon starting and I’ll be taking a lot of photos of the mask shops for you! (^-^)

      Like

  6. bonnie said, on May 24, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    i know godzilla is supposed to be scary and imposing, but it looks so cheeky and funny to me, i dunooOo why

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 27, 2011 at 1:28 am

      Haha… I never thought about that…! Well, after this tsunami and earthquake nothing looks scary much to me! (^-^;)

      Like

  7. FigmentJedi said, on June 6, 2011 at 5:04 am

    They put this Godzilla up in 1995 for Godzilla vs Destroyah, where he “died”. Kind of a little memorial for him.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 10, 2011 at 4:28 am

      Thanks for the information! I didn’t know that! Personally I always thought of Godzilla as a female, but who knows?

      Like


Leave a Reply

