Tokyobling's Blog

More Tanabata Festival – Zojoji

Posted in Japanese Traditions, Places by tokyobling on July 15, 2011

Some more photos from the Tanabata festival at Zojoji, one of the largest temples in the Tokyo area. The temple itself, like many other temples in Japan has moved around a lot since it’s founding and Zojoji itself has been on this spot since 1590. It is famous for hosting the graves of six of the fifteen Tokugawa shogun, which is in itself quite enough reason to go visit the temple.

The tanabata festival I attended was big, loud and colorful, with live performances from a famous singer/pianist duo and lots of stuff for kids to do, the two most popular being the handmade lanterns and a boxcar-run that I was unable to get any good shots of, unfortunately. More festival photos coming soon, as the this year’s festival season starts in earnest!



14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jennifer said, on July 15, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    As usual, wonderful photos! I especially like the one of the luminaries. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 25, 2011 at 5:51 am

      Thank you for the kind comment Jennifer! As usual you have some great shots on your blog. Your studio by the way, is amazing! What a location!

      Like

  2. Timi said, on July 15, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Ahh those lampion thingies again, now I’m curious^^;
    The singer is pretty cute smiling and enjoying the performance!
    Thanks again!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 25, 2011 at 5:54 am

      The concert was actually recorded and broadcast on radio the next day. I didn’t hear it but if you did you could have heard my applause, or when I moved to close to the microphones, the click-click of my loud Nikon camera!

      Like

  3. Nikos said, on July 15, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Flickr ! On the last picture, the lights remind me of the Flickr logo ^__^

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 25, 2011 at 5:55 am

      Haha… good catch! The top two lights are real lights, the second two on the bottoms are lens reflections that I didn’t have the heart to photoshop out!

      Like

  4. May said, on July 16, 2011 at 5:42 am

    These photos make me so nostalgic! I used to write down (a lot of) wishes on the tag and hang them for tanabata!
    I love summer night!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 25, 2011 at 5:56 am

      May, what did you wish for? This year, as every year there seemed to be a lot of wishes for “let my dad keep his hair on more year” and such. Haha…

      Like

  5. nanashi said, on July 23, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Why is it that you go to festivals and shoot Tanabata pictures so early?
    I was wondering ~~ ^-^ ~heheh
    Because in Wikipedia it says that this year’s Tanabata starts 2011-08-06
    A Japanese teacher who came in our country for practice teaching had a small bamboo tree he showed us too, I wondered then too why he had it so early as I know Tanabata is normally in August.

    Does it depend from the area, when a festival would take place?
    but still I think that a week difference would be ok, not a month. hmmm..
    (:

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 25, 2011 at 6:06 am

      Haha… good point! It’s because people have so many choices of when to pick their tanabata! They can use a lunar calendar, a solar-lunar calendar or a gregorian (western) calender. And since most people today use the western calender (with most I mean everyone) the traditional date for the tanabata festivals are the seventh of July, 7/7. The lunar calendar dates change from year to year! (^-^)

      Like

  6. Irina Kolak said, on July 28, 2011 at 11:46 am

    All of your Tanabata photos are making me extremely nostalgic. I miss Japanese summer nights, the heat, the sounds, the festivals, the scents… Fortunately, I follow your blog, which, at least for a minute or two, takes me far away from my rather boring office to wonderful Japan. 🙂
    Thanks for the photos. You’re the best!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 29, 2011 at 1:18 am

      Thank you for the kind and thoughtful comment! I am sorry you can’t be here for the summer but who knows what the future will bring? (^-^)

      Like

  7. rommel said, on March 3, 2012 at 5:25 am

    You know how I feel about your pics…. 😀

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:24 pm

      Thank you! (*^-^*)

      Like


Leave a Reply

