Tokyobling's Blog

Kakigori – Shaved Ice

Posted in Japanese Traditions, Places by tokyobling on August 21, 2011

Few things are more Japanese than the Kakigori, or shaved ice sweetened by variously colored syrups and creams. I have never enjoyed it though, as tasty as it looks few things are better at creating havoc in you stomach than half a pound of ice on a hot summers day! While enjoying (or trying to, it was just too hot for words) a rather long walk through the historic areas of Odawara town last weekend I was lucky to find next to my path a resotored 18th century road side inn, staffed and run by the local tourism NPO. Naturally I leapt into the cool shadow of the house and inquired of their refreshments. “Kakigori, 200 yen, three choices in flavor” was the short answer and as I was very nearly pushing it for second heat stroke in less than a month I plonked a 500 yen coin on the counter and asked her to hit me with two, melon and lemon, you know me, being a fan of anagrams and all that. I figured a ruined stomach would be far prefferable to death by boiling brain so I bravely gulped them both down less time than it took me to write this blog so far. Sorry for the terrible quality of the photos, I am neither a fan of eating or shooting them. They sure look tasty in real life though! I wonder if it will be another ten years until I try one the next time?

Unrelated to this is an anecdote I will be happy to unload on you dear readers. My friend and I was at a sea side restaurant (more like a hole in the wall with chairs) a few years ago run by a very nearly 100 year old lady. My friend ordered a milk syrup flavored kakigori. When the old woman delivered it she disappeared on some errand and left us in the quiet little restaurant wondering whether to lock up after us and how to redress the problem with the syrup, for you see, in the twilight of her faculties the old dear had forgotten to add the syrup. My friend very bravely finished his half pound of pure, unadultered ice. I still tease him about it when given the chance.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Val said, on August 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    I’ve never had one of these (do they even exist outside of Japan?) but they look delicious! 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 22, 2011 at 1:13 am

      I think there are a few around the world, they seem to be pretty common in Hawaii for example. Not sure about Europe though. Maybe something to introduce to your local fair? (^-^)

      Like

  2. Emma Reese said, on August 22, 2011 at 3:41 am

    There are several vendors here during the hot season (I’m in Oklahoma.) They don’t serve 白玉宇治金時though of course.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 22, 2011 at 4:49 am

      Thanks! I had no idea. I guess OK is more cosmopolitan than you’d have us believe! (^-^) And any Welsh speaking friend of Juurie is a friend of mine! Welcome to the blog Emma! (^O^)/

      Like

      • Emma Reese said, on August 22, 2011 at 1:29 pm

        Thanks for your welcome. I’m more than a friend to Juurie; I’m her mother. ^^

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on August 22, 2011 at 11:22 pm

          Diolch i chi am sylwadau! (Thank you Google translate…) You probably have the coolest daughter in Oklamhoma and quite possibly in the entire US! And now I can see where she got her good looks too. (^-^)

          Like

  3. pk1154 said, on August 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Snow cones or snow balls; sort of an old-fashioned American summer treat, mostly seen these days at fairs and other special events. They used to be far more commonly seen as a summer treat.

    You can rent machines to make them (along with popcorn machines and giant inflatable bouncy things) for birthday parties and whatnot.

    The gaudier the color of the flavoring syrup, the better, it seems. Never could figure out what ‘blue’ was actually supposed to taste like. Or maybe it was just that many different flavors all ended up being colored blue. Dark red was pretty reliably cherry, though.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 22, 2011 at 11:24 pm

      Snow cones! I am sure I have seen it in some old movie or something! I’ve recently had a period where I re-watched a lot of obscure American 70’s movies that I saw as a kid, I’ll keep an eye out! You should see the antique old machines they have over here, so beautiful! And the rainbow kakigori are great looking too, 7 flavors! I fear that there are more syrup than ice in those though. Probably not so good for the kids. I think we have the same problem with blue over here. (^-^;)

      Like

  4. Timi said, on August 23, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    We also have something like the snow cones here:) It is sold in a plastic cup along with a straw. It has different flavours everywhere, forest-fruit(the blue one) or kiwi the green, and the red raspberry for ex..
    It is cheaper I guess than ice cream, and sometimes comes better when the weather is too hot for too much sweetness. A 2dl one is usally 100yen, the 3dl is 150yen. I was already into it when I was little, so I guess it’s been around for at least 15 years.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 24, 2011 at 12:22 am

      Forest fruit! Here green is tea or melon, but lime or kiwi ones are sometimes available. It’s good to hear this thing is more common than I thought. I guess us arctic types wouldn’t really consider eating ice! I added the spoon for size comparison, it’s a typical desert spoon (halfway between a soup and tea spoon).

      Like

      • pk1154 said, on August 24, 2011 at 12:45 pm

        Oh my, they are making shaved ice right now on NHK world (TOKYO EYE).

        No, I don’t doubt that ‘arctic types’ would not want to thinkabout snow and ice during the summer.

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on August 25, 2011 at 2:32 am

          It’s a fitting subject for your summer I think! (^-^)

          Like


Leave a comment