Tokyobling's Blog

Omotesando Gyre

Posted in Places, Shops by tokyobling on November 4, 2011

To compensate for the rough theme of the last post, here’s a few photos I took in one of Tokyo’s glitziest shopping buildings in the heart of Omotesando, the Gyre. I don’t think I have ever been inside or outside this building without grabbing my camera, it is just so visually interesting. While taking this shot of the main hall I almost fell over backwards, which would have been a very ignoble end of this blog. On the first floor of this building is the main Chanel store of Omotesando (which is Japan’s, and maybe the world’s most fashionable district) and they had a very cute wall sized mouse-lady photo up. Couldn’t resist all that glitz and those whiskers! The last photo is taken from the elevated walkway crossing the Omotsando itself. I think most people who visit Tokyo have taken a similar photo like this!


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D... said, on November 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Oh I love a good mall!!!! This one reminds me of South Coast Plaza. It has all the fancy shops, TIffany’s, Chanel, etc. It’s fun to window shop and make pretend lists. Although I do feel a bit better having the money in my possession rather than surrendering it to the snooty sales person.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 5, 2011 at 3:03 am

      Haha… yes! I never go shopping. But these glitzy centers have great galleries that I just have to visit… (^-^;)

      Like

      • D... said, on November 5, 2011 at 5:25 am

        There are galleries in the centers (interject my intonation of wonder and curiosity)? I think that sounds so cool.

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on November 5, 2011 at 1:32 pm

          Haha… I think they put it there to draw customers. And it works. I visit often (as a matter of fact, I have a post coming up on their last exhibition)!

          Like


Leave a Reply

