Tokyobling's Blog

Tokyo Countdown – 2012

Posted in Places by tokyobling on January 1, 2012

For the New Year countdown I did something unusual and attended a big countdown event in Zojoji, a large temple in the middle of Tokyo, just behind the big Tokyo Tower. The temple staff told us there were supposed to be about 30 000 people there but it was easily the most crowded event I have ever been in, it must have been closer to 100 000 people attending. Several thousand attendants had been given a balloon in which to attach there new year’s wishes and prayers and everyone was supposed to release them at the start of the new year! The balloons were made of biodegradable flour (I think) and contained a few flower seeds each. It will be interesting to see if there’s an increase in wild flowers around Tokyo this summer! Here’s a fun video from last year, taken from very close to where I was standing, even if the picture quality is bad it’s fun to listen to girls going “Sugoi sugoi sugoi!” over and over!

It was really hard to get any decent photos, but these might give you an idea. It was much to crowded for me though, next year I will go back to a more traditional shinto shrine countdown ceremony! Happy New Year, Akemashite omododeto gozaimasu! アケオメ!


17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. andy1076 said, on January 1, 2012 at 5:59 am

    Happy 2012 my friend! 🙂 🙂 what’s that they are releasing at the bottom picture? bubbles? it’s neat!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 1:57 am

      Thank you Andy! Those are balloons with wishes and few seeds of flower in them! Completely biodegradable!

      Like

  2. Irina Kolak said, on January 1, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Happy New Year, dear Tokyobling! Love the photos. Keep up the great work.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 1:58 am

      Thank you Irina! I’ll do my best! (^-^)/

      Like

  3. Wanders of the World said, on January 1, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    I remember on New Years Day I went to see the Emperor of Japan in his little castle…hopefully if you’re not too hung over from the nomikai’s you can see him!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 1:59 am

      Haha… I don’t drink (much) so no problems there! I haven’t been to the speech though, some day I must go. It’s one of the little goodies of Tokyo life that I am saving for the future me to experience and enjoy! (^-^)

      Like

  4. Timi said, on January 1, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    A very Happy New Year Mr. Tokyobling (^o^)/
    Hope You keep us entertained this year as well!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 2:01 am

      Thank you Timi! I promise I will do my best…! (^-^)/

      Like

  5. Emma Reese said, on January 1, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    ett gott nytt år! Biodegradable baloons are such a good idea and even with seeds in them. Over here we did nothing special but just heard a distant firecrackers.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 2:02 am

      Gott nytt år! Thank you Emma! I think doing nothing is also a very zen way of celebrating the new year! (^-^)

      Like

  6. […] Kick started at midnight on Dec 31, thousands of Japanese visit a local shrine to pray for the upcoming year. Last year I realized exaactly how many people live in Japan as we all visited Meiji Shrine. Although cold, I was all toasty mashed in with 8,000 of my human blankets. This year I opted to let TokyoBlingBlog tell the story -See pictures here. […]

    Like

  7. Chorwin said, on January 2, 2012 at 4:47 am

    a lot of handphones capturing the balloons.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 2:04 am

      Yes, every year they keep getting more and more! (^-^;)

      Like

  8. dooboy said, on January 2, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Reblogged this on Diliptej and commented:
    worth watching everyone trying to sweep out their black dreams flying away the balloons …

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 2:04 am

      Thank you Dooboy! (^-^)

      Like

  9. dafarmer said, on January 2, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Wow very cool! I wish i could havs dons something so cool. But i xid vet to spend my son’s first. New year with him.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 5, 2012 at 2:07 am

      That’s good enough I think! I don’t have anyone yet so, at least I get to go out a lot. (^-^;)

      Like


Leave a Reply

