Tokyobling's Blog

Roppongi Itasha

Posted in Places by tokyobling on April 17, 2012

Walking in Roppongi I saw these two gloriously decorated cars parked on the side of the road just outside Tokyo Midtown. Itasha, the practice of anime fans to decorate their cars with the favorite anime series has been going on for quite some time but it’s always fun to see them in the wild! An Audi and an Alfa Romeo, fun thing is, both parked outside the Roppongi Mercedes dealership. I love how the owners of these cars are so fantastically devoted to their favorite shows that they would decorate a multi-million yen sports car like this. Both of the owners were standing near the cars when I stopped to snap these but they didn’t mind at all. Must be getting used to the cameras by now!





8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D... said, on April 17, 2012 at 7:08 am

    I think the point is for you to notice the cars. You know the vein of thinking, boys and their toys. But there is something off here. I think the choice of car just seems…off. But that is probably the California Car Girl in me talking. I wonder what the Audi folks would think…

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2012 at 10:41 am

      A California Car girl in my blog? Haha… well, you probably know one hundred times as much about cars as I do. I am just happy to avoid them generally. (^-^;)

      Like

  2. Sabine said, on April 17, 2012 at 10:08 am

    It’s definitely something that a passer-by would notice. Great seeing people show their passion in a form that many people might not expect. I’m hoping to one day when I own a car do something similar ^_^ Although it may gain more weird looks here than there, but I wouldn’t really care : p

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2012 at 10:42 am

      Thank you Sabine! Me too, I think it’s great that they stand up for their passion, and it isn’t hurting anyone. And besides, it’s just cars… (^-^;)

      Like

  3. Emma Reese said, on April 17, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Is Itasha short for イタ車 – Italian car?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2012 at 10:44 am

      Hi Emma! I think originally itasha was short for Italian cars, but in recent decades it’s become the short for Itai kuruma… ita-sha. I was confused at first too! (^-^;)

      Like

  4. kes said, on April 17, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Cute… and fascinating. Only in japan we get to see this.
    I haven’t seen any audi owner in denmark do this. The only kind of decoration I see is soap ^^

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 1, 2012 at 10:45 am

      Haha…. Soap?!? I’d love to see a Danish Soap Audi! (^-^;)

      Like


Leave a comment