Tokyobling's Blog

Takarabune Awaodori – Kyodo

Posted in Japanese Traditions, People, Places by tokyobling on July 25, 2012

It’s been far too long I had the chance to see one of my all time favorite awaodori teams – the wonderfully weird and wonky, avant-garde almost, Takarabune, native of Tokyo. I went to see the festival at Kyodo in Tokyo’s Setagaya ward and didn’t know that they would be performing but they were as fantastic as ever. I have no idea how they manage to perform with the level of intensity they do, surely they have never heard of pacing themselves or preserving their energy, at any point in the parade they seem to be 30 seconds from the ending. Their style is about as far as it is possible to get in from true awaodori, they have more in common with a burlesque dance show on stage or even miming! If you’re in Tokyo on the 28th this month you can see them live at the Kitamachi Awaodori at Nerima Station.

They move so fast I totally missed to change my camera settings and these were the best photos I managed to get of them, there’s always a fine line between getting caught in the show and actually trying to get good photos. This time I must have enjoyed them too much. Sorry for all the blur! You might remember them from another blog post a couple of years back with much better (sharper) photos.




2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coal said, on July 25, 2012 at 8:37 am

    They’re certainly unorthodox, but great crowd pleasers and know their manners. I think they’re going to be at Shimokitazawa on 18th August as well as Kitamachi.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 26, 2012 at 11:08 am

      Yes, I think I saw that on their schedule. They have a pretty neat homepage, I wish they updated it more often though! (^-^) Like, everyday…. for example (^-^;)

      Like


Leave a Reply

