Tokyobling's Blog

New Year Dawn – Akagi Shrine

Posted in Places by tokyobling on January 6, 2013

The last darkness of the old year gives way to the first pale light of the first morning on the new year. Just before dawn on New Year’s Day I visited Akagi Shrine in Tokyo’s famous Kagurazaka district. This shrine is easily the most modern shinto shrine in Japan – all glass, concrete and machine cut stone! It was bitingly cold night but I stood around to enjoy the last of the moon before the sun came out. There was a steady stream of visitors even at that time, mostly couples or men and women coming alone, but also a few locals offering bottles of sake or boxes of fruits to the shrine and even a rowdy group of drunk young men. If you’re ever in the area, this is one of the must see shrines of Tokyo!

akagi_shrine_new_years_9761

akagi_shrine_new_years_9771

akagi_shrine_new_years_9775

akagi_shrine_new_years_9776

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sph3re said, on January 6, 2013 at 3:58 am

    You captured beautifully the serene mood of the place. Great work!

    Like

  2. dafarmer said, on January 6, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Love the work! I wish I could go to shrine for the new year. No shinto temples here. I do for sure miss going there. But I guess I had black eyed peas on the the new years day so at least I got some good luck this year!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 11, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      I would really miss it if I had to celebrate new year’s abroad… Hope you can come back and visit soon!

      Like

  3. Timi said, on January 7, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    Strangely, the last picture is the fav for me, it has some nice calm feel to it..

    Like


Leave a Reply

