Tokyobling's Blog

Train Letterbox and the 0km Point – Shinagawa Station

Posted in Places by tokyobling on July 31, 2013

In the middle of Shinagawa station, on the floor above the train lines is an often overlooked point of local history: the 0km point for the Yamanote train line and the virtually unknown Hinkaku train line. Few people visit Tokyo without once riding on the green circular Yamanote line (山手線) and even fewer realize that Shinagawa station is the starting point of the line, going towards Shinjuku station and finally ending at Tamachi station. Hence, Shinagawa station is considered the 0km point of the most important Tokyo train line. There is one more train line starting here, the Hinkaku line (品鶴線), that started out a freight train line between Shinagawa and the Tsurumi stations, in 1929. These days the old tracks of the Hinkaku line is used by the Shonan Shinjuku line that connects Tochigi, Saitama and Kanagawa prefectures with Tokyo.

The 0km spot is honored by a special Japan Post letter box in the shape of and old “kabocha densha”, the traditional green and orange colored trains that are never seen in Tokyo these days but one rural train line in Gunma at least kept the color scheme. If you are a fan or themed letter boxes you shouldn’t miss the one in Omiya station, or even the panda shaped one in Ueno.

Oh, and this is old hat for people who have been in Tokyo a long time, speaking of the Yamanote line, but the Shinagawa Station is actually located inside Minato Ward (and not the Shinagawa Ward), and Meguro Station is located inside Shinagawa Ward (and not the Meguro Ward). Almost half of Shinjuku Station is located inside Shibuya Ward. At least the Shibuya Station is actually inside the Shibuya Ward. Very confusing!

post_box_shinagawa_station_8327

post_box_shinagawa_station_8322

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on July 31, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    All the facts that I never knew! We used to ride “kabocha densha” in Kobe. I don’t know if it’s still running. I thought my family gave the name to the orange/green train! I didn’t know it was a widely used nickname!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 24, 2013 at 6:11 am

      I think I got this name from your family actually! It is a great name so it really stuck with me. I use it all the time with my Japanese friends and they instantly seem to understand what kind of trains I am referring to. (^-^)

      Like

  2. C said, on August 1, 2013 at 3:57 am

    Wouldn’t it be cool if they painted the county line demarcation in the station? I wish they did that in South Lake Tahoe, where one street was part of the CA/NV state line. Where exactly is the border? How wide is it, technically? So many questions, so few answers…

    The woman in the first photo looks like a mannequin or robot. Was that staged or was she just walking by? And the way the font renders, I was wondering what OKM stood for 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 24, 2013 at 6:13 am

      Oh yes! They should do that everywhere, raise people’s awareness of the city or place they live in! Some borders in the world are like that as well.

      Haha… that was not staged, she just happened to walk into the shot. I got a few shot without her as well but I figured this one looked more interesting. (^-^)

      The font. Not the best one in the world. The comment entry font is actually different so when I write 0km it looks fine! But once it is published… (^-^;)

      Like

      • C said, on August 25, 2013 at 6:08 pm

        You’re using WordPress, so you can change the font to whatever you like. And people entering shots can add perspective and action — I’ve gotten used to liking that when it happens

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on August 26, 2013 at 12:38 pm

          I wish I could change the font! I would probably have to change the theme or put it on a dedicated server and I don’t have time to fiddle around with those sort of things… I need a volunteer webmaster! (^-^;)

          Like

          • C said, on August 26, 2013 at 10:20 pm

            You’re in luck, as I’ve spent the summer getting to know WP inside and out (providing basic sites to small business clients who don’t have time to market themselves). With most themes, you can change the font, but the one you have won’t let you. However, you don’t have the latest version. Go to Appearance > Themes, search for Journalist, and preview 1.9. It has a different body font than 1.3, your current version. Sans serif is easier to read on screen, at least. And it’s the path of least resistance if you’re busy!

            Like

          • tokyobling said, on August 27, 2013 at 3:20 pm

            Thanks for the advice! I’ll have to check the new version out! (^-^)

            Like

  3. Coal said, on August 1, 2013 at 4:24 am

    I pass that every morning and evening, and never knew that. I will look at it again with renewed vigour.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 24, 2013 at 6:14 am

      Don’t worry about it, I have passed it hundreds of times as well without noticing! (^-^;)

      Like

  4. maikaefer said, on August 3, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Hat dies auf Maikaefer's Weblog rebloggt und kommentierte:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

    Like


Leave a comment