Tokyobling's Blog

Odaiba Rainbow Bridge

Posted in Places by tokyobling on December 23, 2013

I have lived a good many years in Tokyo before I saw the famous Rainbow Bridge actually lit up in the colors of a rainbow! I always wondered about the name and the rather drab light up, but here it is, the Rainbow Bridge in all its namesake glory! Today, the 23rd of December a public holiday and the Emperor’s birthday. It is called Tenno Tanjobi in Japan and Emperor Akihito (or Emperor Heisei) is 80 years old today. May he live for a good many years still! He share the throne with Empress Michiko, who is the first commoner ever to marry a Crown Prince of Japan. The Emperor is no dummy, in fact he is a respected scientist in the field of ichthyology, the study of fish, especially in the subject of taxonomy.

odaiba_rainbow_bridge_2311

odaiba_rainbow_bridge_2325

odaiba_rainbow_bridge_2267

odaiba_rainbow_bridge_2282

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. C said, on December 23, 2013 at 5:31 am

    Ah, that explains why the Enoshima Aquarium had all these references to an Emperor studying jellyfish! And very ironic with the Statue of Liberty there…that’s not a very royalist POV 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on December 24, 2013 at 6:21 am

      Indeed! (^-^) The Emperor Hirohito was big on fish as well, and the crown prince is a heavyweight in water conservation. It bodes well for the future of Japan! (^-^)

      Like

  2. romainboitier said, on December 23, 2013 at 7:54 am

    I guess you were on that boat you recommanded me ;). Had not the pleasure to see it by night but look really amazing. Thanks again for those tips. Btw you didn’t thought to do a book about Tokyo?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on December 24, 2013 at 6:23 am

      Not on the boat, all of these were taken on dry land. The boat is a beauty but it doesn’t run night tours. (^-^) I have written one book on Tokyo and I have several photo books ready to go but I can never seem to bring myself to actually taking them to a printer. I guess it is that thought of having to live with cardboard boxes of unsold books for the rest of my life…. haha… (^-^;)

      Like

      • C said, on December 24, 2013 at 4:58 pm

        Everyone is into eBooks and print-on-demand, so no inventory needed and no excuses to show us bling in different forms 🙂

        Like

  3. Dina Farmer said, on December 23, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    Amazing! Out of the 4 years that I lived on Yokota Air Base I never saw the bridge lit up in all it’s rainbow colors like that!! Beautiful and worth the wait!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on December 24, 2013 at 6:25 am

      Yokota, I drive past it sometimes, I always imagine what goes on inside there. Can’t imagine what life must be like… (^-^;)

      Like

      • Dina Farmer said, on December 24, 2013 at 8:01 pm

        Hrm, an American military life. LOL. It’s like a mini America. There is schools and colleges people do their jobs and live there. I loved living there. It’s like a little city only with military people. You should go to the Air Show I think it is normally open to the public. 🙂

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on December 25, 2013 at 1:43 am

          It is open to the public if the public has Japanese or American passports! Unfortunately I do not have either so…. (^-^;) But when you move back you can invite me. (^O^)

          Like

          • Dina Farmer said, on December 25, 2013 at 2:09 am

            Oh yeah for sure! Oh darn I had no idea about that. 😦

            Like

  4. yudhistira14 said, on March 16, 2014 at 9:37 am

    I have a background photo of this bridge. But I do not take pictures with the Statue of Liberty

    Like


Leave a Reply

