Tokyobling's Blog

More Misogigamankai at Kanda Shrine

Posted in Japanese Traditions, People, Places by tokyobling on January 14, 2014

More photos from the Endurance/purification ceremony at Tokyo’s Kanda Shrine (Kanda Myojin) the other day. Although I am usually all for immersing myself in my adopted culture this is one habit that I will refrain from. Most of the participants where shaking as they stood waiting for their turn and even the leader of the group, who spent over half an hour standing in the ice water while keeping an eye on the bathers must have been suffering greatly. The funniest incident of the day was at the end, after the one hour long ordeal when the obligatory group photos was to be taken. Everyone lined up smartly, with the new 20 year olds at the front, and as usual the news media photographers where fiddling with their equipment. It didn’t take many seconds for one of the girls to shout “just get on with it!” to the photographers. Much laughter both in the crowd and among the participants! I can understand her as by that point I was almost frozen solid myself, despite many layers of warm dry clothes.

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_7890

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8101

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8118

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8161

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8184

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8232

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8241

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8243

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8262

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8313

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8351

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8372

kanda_myojin_misogigamankai_8378

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lilichan06 said, on January 14, 2014 at 7:13 am

    Oh…Incredible ceremony !!!
    I think they are very much concentrated to try not to feel the freezing cold 😀

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 29, 2014 at 4:49 am

      Haha… I am sure they did! I would probably have concentrated on not having my heart just stopping on me, if ever I tried something similar…! (^-^;)

      Like

  2. Hangaku Gozen said, on January 14, 2014 at 8:18 am

    They look like they’re freezing, but at the same time they seem to be having a lot of fun! I don’t envy the guys in the little white loincloths, however! 😀

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 29, 2014 at 4:50 am

      Haha… I am sure they are proud of having managed it, afterwards. I am sure the women had it much worse than the men though. (^-^;)

      Like

  3. Mustang.Koji said, on January 14, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    As I mentioned earlier, I am pure enough. Onsen for me. 🙂 Dang, that’s looks worse than being in Antarctica!

    Like

  4. Shelli@howsitgoingeh? said, on January 15, 2014 at 12:31 am

    Wow! Thanks for capturing this! I love Shinto traditions!

    Like

  5. C said, on January 15, 2014 at 8:20 am

    Daaang, has Tokyobling hit a cultural wall? Who knew this day would come 😉

    Like

  6. yudhistira14 said, on March 16, 2014 at 9:30 am

    I just passed only when the train ride. I never fell in Kanda. On another occasion, I hope when he returned to Japan to roam Sakura more

    Like


Leave a Reply

