Tokyobling's Blog

Sumida River – Feeding the Gulls

Posted in Animals, Places by tokyobling on March 16, 2014

A sunny Saturday afternoon walking along the Sumida river near the Sensoji Temple in Asakusa and I saw a group of people feeding a lively flock of gulls. Few scenes are as much fun and easy to photograph as this!

This spot on the Sumida river is very popular with tourists, as it is where two different cruise ship operators and water taxis have their starting points, about a dozen different vessels and half as many different lines. The most popular lines go to Odaiba, a reclaimed island on in Tokyo Bay. You can read about one of these lines in a couple of posts I did in 2012, here and here. I can’t wait for spring to arrive!

gulls_sumida_river_7489

gulls_sumida_river_7492

gulls_sumida_river_7494

gulls_sumida_river_7532

gulls_sumida_river_7567

gulls_sumida_river_7577

gulls_sumida_river_7643

gulls_sumida_river_7666

gulls_sumida_river_7669

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Buri-chan said, on March 17, 2014 at 12:46 am

    I love the photos of the birds in flight! I’m staying in Asakusa for a night next time I’m in Tokyo, so maybe I should stop by this area–I think I went there breifly before, but just to enjoy the view of the SkyTree before taking my friends on to Sensoji.
    Speaking of that trip to Tokyo, would you like me to find details on the kimono competition at the NHK stage on April 6? My sensei says tickets should be available at the door.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 26, 2014 at 12:44 am

      Hi! It is a great place! (^-^) Thank you, I would love to see the kimono competition (and to see your fantastic obi as well – it is a new style to me) but I will be out of the city most weekends this spring so unfortunately I will miss it… (+_+;)

      Like

      • Buri-chan said, on March 26, 2014 at 12:47 am

        No problem! If all goes according to plan, after my turn I will slip out of backstage to have my teacher and friend take lots of pictures. At least I have plans to stop by the Sumida River the following morning to see the cherry blossoms!

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on March 26, 2014 at 1:26 am

          Sounds good! There is a sakura festival in the Sumida River park until the 6th, they usually have a lot of things going on with everything from Yabusame to Awaodori. I hope you can catch some of it! (^-^)

          Like

  2. Timi said, on March 18, 2014 at 9:15 am

    Look like the birds are dancing! I love feeding them, well not gulls, there are not many around here, since there is not much of water. Some of the people though tend to look with evil eyes, not liking the fact that others throw some crumbs or such to them…never gonna understand that.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 26, 2014 at 12:50 am

      There are a surprising number of people who don’t like birds. Me I love all living things. Some birds do a pretty good job on Sunday mornings cleaning up the messy streets after the weekend partying…!

      Like

  3. Bronwyn Joy @ Journeys Of The Fabulist said, on March 21, 2014 at 2:19 am

    Wow – fantastic shots of birds in flight. Amazing!

    Like


Leave a Reply

