Tokyobling's Blog

Spring Storm and Cherry Blossoms at the Yasukuni Shrine

Posted in Places by tokyobling on March 31, 2014

A few days ago, while I was busy with other less important things the sakura season was officially declared open here in Tokyo after the tree in Yasukuni shrine started blooming. The week saw great weather and the first hints of summer humidity. On Sunday morning however it was like a typhoon had hit us. Rain, winds, thunder and lightning. Most of the events I had planned got canceled due to the bad weather so instead I headed over to Yasukuni Shrine in Tokyo’s Chiyoda ward to see how the poor old cherry blossoms were doing. I didn’t get far until a sudden wind burst turned my umbrella into a spiky knot of confetti! At the shrine where the food stalls were all geared up the rain had driven most visitors away. All the trees were in full bloom however and I think the peak should come today, Monday. From Tuesday the blooming will start to recede and we might get one more weekend of flower viewing here in Tokyo if the weather holds. Today seems to be promising a beautiful day.

As I passed the main gate of the Yasukuni shrine I saw a group of very elderly gentlemen having their portrait taken. I think they were a war veteran group, survivors of Guadalcanal here to pay their respects to their fallen comrades.

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1302

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1303

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1304

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1306

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1317

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1335

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1337

yasukuni_shrine_cherry_blossoms_2014_1345

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mustang.Koji said, on March 31, 2014 at 6:26 am

    You mentioned you believed veterans of Guadalcanal were there. I assume you are referring to them, once an Japanese Imperial Army soldier so long ago. It is good they visit and remember their fellow human beings. Your photograph of the sakura against what appears to be a moss-covered post is gorgeous. Here at my home in SoCal, my hybrid cherry blossom tree had also bloomed but paled in comparison to those at the shrine.

    Like

    • Mustang.Koji said, on March 31, 2014 at 6:26 am

      Check that. Moss covered tree.

      Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 31, 2014 at 6:45 am

      Thank you Koji!

      Yes, the group in the picture would be some of the very few surviving JIA or JIN (I believe JIN but I might be mistaken) survivors. For them Guadalcanal was the turning point to peace (a very positive way of seeing things). Yes, it is a patch of moss on the tree trunk (^-^)

      Like

      • Mustang.Koji said, on April 1, 2014 at 7:08 am

        I guess you’d have to ask them if they were army or navy… My dad’s younger brother was KIA as a sergeant in the Imperial Japanese Army on Leyte.

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on April 1, 2014 at 7:26 am

          The many navy symbols makes me believe they were a JIN. Very few survivors of the JIA as well. Yes, I Leyte was horrible.

          Like

  2. C said, on April 1, 2014 at 4:00 am

    So where’s the photo of the umbrella shredded into confetti?! That’s quite a description 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 1, 2014 at 7:01 am

      Haha… I was not in any state to pull up a camera…! A lost 525 yen umbrella I can live with… (^-^;)

      Like

  3. Timi said, on April 7, 2014 at 8:16 am

    Flower power is on! I made so many shots on the flowers around us that I actually start to feel like I made too much (but I know there is no such thing as too much when it comes to flowers and nature! :D)
    Aaaand, some flowers from here:
    https://www.flickr.com/gp/116817973@N02/3Ge66D
    https://www.flickr.com/gp/116817973@N02/Sjs8r4
    and another for good luck :3 https://www.flickr.com/gp/116817973@N02/0Xc0iB

    Like


Leave a Reply

