Tokyobling's Blog

Ginza Spring Rain

Posted in Places by tokyobling on May 7, 2014

About a month ago I was in Ginza, coming out into the streets just a few minutes after a heavy rain was finally about finish up. I love walking in the city after a rain. The streets are clean, the air is clean and there are fewer people on the sidewalks. Perfect conditions for a brisk walk! The skies are more interesting as well. When I was a kid I remember reading about Japan on the first page of our geography textbook, and the first image I saw of a modern Japanese city was a photo of Ginza after the rain. That image has stayed with my mind and to this day I always feel something extra when I find myself actually walking the streets of Ginza. I guess this is how you feel when you see a movie star in real life!

ginza_spring_sunset_1459

ginza_spring_sunset_1454

ginza_spring_sunset_1460

ginza_spring_sunset_1463

ginza_spring_sunset_1466

ginza_spring_sunset_1480

ginza_spring_sunset_1486

ginza_spring_sunset_1488

ginza_spring_sunset_1492

ginza_spring_sunset_1499

Tagged with: , , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D... said, on May 7, 2014 at 5:25 am

    I love rain, and isn’t there a special smell when it’s just rained. I am not sure how to describe it, but there is a bit of joy there. Like the paved walkways are happily lapping up the water from the sky, eagerly awaiting more. Something like that. And now I picture an adorable little child opening up a large text book with eyes aglow from the sleek and beautiful Ginza. I wonder if he knew that would be home one day.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 7, 2014 at 6:12 am

      Thank you D! That was a very kind and moving comment!

      Like

      • D... said, on May 8, 2014 at 9:53 am

        Oh but I need an editor, I realized afterwards that I forget to write the word “from”, water from the sky. I thought it in my head, but it didn’t make it all the way to my fingers. 😦

        Like

  2. Cathryn said, on May 7, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    I love it when it’s just rained – well, I do here in California. In the UK, rain is too common. But here, there’s that lovely misty feeling and everything looks so green. Love these photos too.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 8, 2014 at 3:10 am

      Haha… yes. I find that the rain is different though. Japan is so green sometimes that it is almost painful. I remember having visitors from a desert country over a few years ago and they just kept taking photos of the foliage. Not the trees, or the skyline or the views, just the massive walls of green! Especially out in the countryside where the rice paddies are different shades of green as well. In the city of course, it is all grey. Concrete, glass and steel. Not beautiful in a classical sense but it has a certain charm on the human mind!

      Like

  3. Timi said, on May 7, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    Spring rain..oh that scent of the air during and after the rain..one of the best scents in the world. Here I live in the outskirts of my town, so it’s a doubled experience * – *

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 8, 2014 at 3:11 am

      Absolutely! I love it the same year after year: the first warm spring rain is always the best.

      Like

  4. Dina Farmer said, on May 7, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    Amazing! did you have some longer exposures? I love the rain! I miss it so much living here…but I’m about to get my fill I guess.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 8, 2014 at 3:19 am

      Thanks! (^-^) No longer exposures I am afraid, I was on the move and just snapped this, quick and dirty! Rain coming? Sweet!

      Like

      • Dina Farmer said, on May 8, 2014 at 3:20 am

        Yep monsoon season is on it’s way in the desert. We’ll see if we get any rain hopefully a lot we need it!

        Like


Leave a Reply

