Tokyobling's Blog

Nara Wild Deer

Posted in Animals, People by tokyobling on August 14, 2014

If Nara City in Western Japan is know for anything it is the Big Buddha and for the hundreds of wild deer roaming the streets. If there ever was a popularity contest I wonder who would win, the temple or the deer? Although I have never really had the time to focus an hour or so to taking photos of the deer it is hard to miss them just walking through the city and I took these snaps as I visited Nara a couple of years ago. Nara is one of my favorite places in Japan and I am always looking for excuses to visit. It is also a good place to base yourself for tourism to western Japan if the Kyoto hotels are full or the big city feel of Osaka is too intimidating. Nara is full of the old time small city charm even though there are close to 340 000 people living there.

nara_deer_7676b

nara_deer_7692

nara_deer_7690

nara_deer_7708

nara_deer_7704

nara_deer_7653

nara_deer_7649

nara_deer_7543

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yt said, on August 14, 2014 at 4:56 am

    The first picture is great! =)

    Like

  2. Shabba Doo Hawkins said, on August 14, 2014 at 7:18 am

    Fantastic photos! Nara is one of the most magical places I’ve ever been to, love it so much ♡

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 14, 2014 at 9:13 am

      Thank you for the kind comment! I totally agree. Nara is magic! I really should do my ranking of Japanese larger cities some day. Nara will rank highly!

      Like

  3. Julie said, on August 14, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I love the Nara deer! I still remember the taste of the osenbe that you can buy to feed them (I think my 4-year old self ate most of them instead of sharing with the deer.) I’d surely love to visit again. The deer crossing sign looks exactly the same as the one we have here in the US!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 15, 2014 at 7:53 am

      Maybe the sign is actually American? There’s a surprising amount of direct imports from the US here, if you know where to look. It sure doesn’t look anything like normal Japanese deer signs. Haha… I think most people are guilty of that one: trying out the shikasenbei! I haven’t though, but the next time I visit Nara I will!

      Like

  4. Cathryn said, on August 15, 2014 at 12:50 am

    The first photo caused great delight for my little boy 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on August 15, 2014 at 7:51 am

      Oh how wonderful! You should bring him to Nara! (^-^) The deer can be almost too nosy though. Better get him used to some normal pets first. (^-^)

      Like

  5. Dina Farmer said, on August 15, 2014 at 5:35 am

    I love the first shot! So cute!

    Like

  6. Alexis Schmidt said, on August 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    I agree, the first shot is awesome. But the other Pictures are also great. Nice !!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

