Tokyobling's Blog

Hachioji Grand Festival

Posted in Japanese Traditions, Places by tokyobling on August 13, 2015

I missed the grand festival in Tokyo’s western city of Hahicoji that took place last weekend. It is one of my favorite festivals so I am a little miffed that I could not go. Instead I dug around among the photos I took of last year’s festival and found these, of the giant dashi right during the magic blue hour! The red light of the lanterns to the wooden browns of the costumes and the dashi look great contrasted with the rich blue of that time of the early evening. Of course seeing the real thing is best photos will have to do in this for this blog!

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6784

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6780

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6778

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6769

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6756

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6820

hachiouji_matsuri_2014_6808

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nocturnaltwins said, on August 13, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    I don’t know what you do for a living but I just think you go around Japan taking pictures of festivals. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

