Tokyobling's Blog

An Albino Peacock

Posted in Animals by tokyobling on May 5, 2009

I once had a friend whose mother raised peacocks commercially in her (rather vast) garden. It was a racket at times, but I always admired the kind of person who would be able to pull that off. The other day I found these two beauties (at a safe distance from each other). I have seen albino peacocks before but this was the first time I brought a nice camera with me. I include the normal peacock for your reference. Now I have a new and impossible dream: to become the world’s first albino peacock breeder! I am sure someone zoologically inspired person out there can tell me more about how common these mutants are in the wild and in zoos around the world.

You might also want to check out the Samurai (armored) peacock featured in an earlier post on this blog.

An albino peacock in Yokohama

An albino peacock in Yokohama


A very ordinary peacock in Yokohama

A very ordinary peacock in Yokohama

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tokyobling said, on March 23, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Time to update this old post: I have learned that this peacock is not actually albino, just white. I had no idea about this until I started reading up on peacock breeding. Interesting stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] via: Bod’s Blog, Super Stock, Tokyo Bling and Richmond […]

    Like

  3. Ng yee said, on June 2, 2011 at 4:03 am

    walao ehhh so cute cute wan. wer u get the picutre eh? ook okk tenks ah

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 2, 2011 at 4:49 am

      Hi! These were in Yokohama City, in a Zoo near Sakuragicho! Noge Zoo, free entrance. Def. recommended!

      Like


Leave a comment