Tokyobling's Blog

A Torture Chamber for Mice

Posted in Design Festa 2009 by tokyobling on November 27, 2009

I have a thing for natural history, ever since I was a kid and my mom’s idea of a good Sunday afternoon was sending me off to the local Natural History museum (a huge building with virtual no other visitors and tons of exhibitions) with a pencil and some blank paper to draw animals. So things like plants, insects, geology, taxidermy and fauna has always been of interest to me. Naturally I had to stop and chat when I came across the Galvanic booth at Tokyo Design Festa last month. This talented guy makes art of otherwise discarded animal/scientific by products. A lot of it is a little bit creepy but I was fascinated by his imagination and skill in taking things a little bit differently than the normal goth teenager’s room decoration you see so much of these days (with the vampire craze having gone strong since the days of Anne Rice). My favorite were these two dark pieces, especially the Mice Torture Chamber. Is it the beginning of a new internet cross over genre? The Spanish Inquisition meets Beatrix Potter? I’d love to see more.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Leider gibt es keine weiteren Quellen oder Hinweise über dieses super creepy piece of Art. via tokyobling Interssante Beiträge die dazu passen:Super Mario Bros. in Real Life – Making Of The Piranha […]

    Like

  2. Lisa E. said, on November 28, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    It’s creepy but I like it. When I was little, a flower shop near my house sold little toy mice (covered in real fur) in costumes. I had a whole collection of mice in fancy dress and I built a home for them in the style of The Borrowers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Borrowers).

    I think you would like the work of my friend Jane Wynn. She is a jewelry artist here in Baltimore. Here’s a necklace that she made – it features a sparrow head: http://idolatrieartist.typepad.com/jane_wynns_studio_a_visua/2008/11/little-odd-spar.html

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on December 1, 2009 at 12:35 am

      The Borrowers were new to me but sort of reminds me of Terry Pratchet’s “Carpet People” or even Oz’s “Fraggles”. Must have been great to read as a kid! Jane Wynn has a very interesting blog, I have to allocate more time to going through her blog properly. Thanks for sharing! I sense another fellow Goth alumni! (^-^;)

      Like


Leave a comment