Tokyobling's Blog

The Cutest Little Kappa

Posted in Design Festa 2009, Japanese Traditions by tokyobling on May 24, 2010

Ever since I first heard of them as a small kid back home I have love the Japanese mythological creature called “Kappa“, aquatic river spirtis a humanoid half frog, half turtle. Back in the good old days they were used to scare children to be careful near rivers and ponds and the tales they featured in were pretty horrific. But as will all things Japanese nothing can escape “cutification”, and now Kappa is widely seen very much like these characters I found in last weeks “Design Fersta”. Of course I bought one of them, my first and I think my only purchase this year’s Design Festa. Aren’t they just adorable. The two creators were quite happy to pose with their little cuties!


Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] this is the country that turns cucumber-stealing, human-throttling swamp monsters into adorable toys for kids. The country’s latest go at cute-ification comes from Hello Kitty producing toy […]

    Like


Leave a comment