Tokyobling's Blog

Komeda’s Coffee

Posted in Places, Shops by tokyobling on May 13, 2011

There is one thing unique to Western Japan and I pray to all the Gods that it never spreads Northeast of Yokohama: the Komeda’s Coffee chain stores. Everywhere central and western Japan you’ll find their coffee shops, cafes and restaurant, for years and years they have persisted in serving absolutely the same old menu and the same old coffee, at reasonable prices. This is, to my knowledge, the only place in the world still serving the kind of coffee you could have 20-30 years ago: no thrills, nothing special, drip coffee pot coffee served without anything fancier than some chilled skim milk and white sugar. The taste is so remarkably bland that I get goose bumps just thinking of it. If you’re the nostalgic kind and visiting western Japan, you just must go. The best time of the day is in the morning when they serve what they call simply “morning”. Yes, it is just that kind of place. Morning is a cheap simple set of a boiled egg (yes, just a boiled egg, and salt if you must), buttered toast and a hot cup of black coffee.

If I sound lyrical, it is because I am. I just love this restaurant, and I love the fact that it is absolutely local, there is just no way to get this coffee in Tokyo. In this day and age, this fact alone is rather fantastic. And do try to ask your friends in western Japan to take you if you ever visit. Komeda’s coffee is almost like a point of national pride for them. And they’ll love you forever if you praise their old style menus, great deal morning sets and absolutely back to basics, simple, hot, black coffee.

This is the place I would take Denis Leary for a coffee if I was cool enough to be his friend!


16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Irina said, on May 13, 2011 at 6:35 am

    The photos totally support your story about this coffee chain. The way the coffee looks in this supercool, old-fashioned cup – great! Coffee flavoured coffee. Can you smoke in that place? 😉 If yes, Denis Leary would be delighted.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 16, 2011 at 1:38 am

      Haha… thanks! Yes, coffee flavoured coffee! If I could I would drink Komeda’s every day! I don’t think you can smoke there anymore though, but they usually have a cigarette spot outdoors. I hate cigarettes but I’d sit next to Mr Leary enjoying his any day!

      Like

  2. kes said, on May 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    what caught my attention was the dessert menu. – The green cake looks yummy 😀

    it’s kinda funny, but I’m not a big fan of drinking coffee. However, I do like the smell of fresh brewed coffee and I love the old fashion style.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 16, 2011 at 1:41 am

      The green cake is a Green Tea cake! お茶ケーキ! Not a big fan personally, but it’s fairly popular here in Japan. If you ever go house shopping in DK you’ll probably notice the real estate agents taking the trouble to brew fresh coffee in the houses just before they open to the interested public! (^-^)

      Like

  3. pk1154 said, on May 13, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Some things should never change because they are perfect the way they are!

    I love new things, but I hate change just for the sake of change. Why, oh why did they change the way they make the muffins at the place I go on Friday mornings for tea and a muffin? (At least the nice young man behind the counter seems sympathetic…)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 16, 2011 at 1:42 am

      My thoughts exactly! At least we should praise the old timers preserving it! Tea and muffin? Maybe other places had the Coffee and donut market cornered too well? (^-^)

      Like

  4. Timi said, on May 14, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    I’m not really a fan of coffee I prefer tea, but the shop is pretty cute^^

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 16, 2011 at 1:44 am

      Isn’t it? I love that guy in the logo, sort of Beatles-Cowboy-Psychadelic-60’s-Hipster-Magician!

      Like

      • Irina said, on May 16, 2011 at 7:21 am

        Yes, that’s it. Beatles-Cowboy-Psychedelic-60’s-Hipster-Magician (on acid)! Haha! :))))))

        Like

  5. Louis said, on May 25, 2011 at 3:43 am

    I had a very similar coffee at a tiny place in Ikebukuro. A few doors down from the ‘B’ hotel. Same little jug of milk and all. Run by some old people.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on May 27, 2011 at 1:31 am

      Louis, you are unusual if you visit those kind of old cafes in Tokyo! I only do when I have to, because of some work related meeting or something. It’s quite different from the chain stores, isn’t it?

      Like

  6. Komeda Coffee » Adventures in Japan said, on August 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    […] you how the coffee is, but I’m sure that a quick search on the next can give tell you but apparently it’s really good! As there is one around a 5 minute walk from I-House, me and a couple of others decided to go for a […]

    Like

  7. Ashenne said, on February 10, 2012 at 7:50 am

    Just stumbled upon this blog, heh ^^ so this is a very late comment. But, I was researching this restaurant, and it shows on google that there is a Komeda in Mitaka, Tokyo. Their food on the website looks absolutely delicious; I want to try everything!

    Like

  8. Jose said, on November 25, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    I totally agree. Komeda’s coffe is one of the best I’ve ever tasted. If you can peek into the kitchen, you’ll see that they’re all “obasan”, that makes me feel that my food is handled by real professionals.

    Like


Leave a comment