Tokyobling's Blog

Matsue Shrine – Shimane Prefecture

Posted in Japanese Traditions, Places by tokyobling on November 10, 2011

Early this summer I visited Shimane Prefecture on the north coast of Japan. Most of the time there I spent in the prefectural capital Matsue to see the sights and enjoy the historic buildings, many of which remains untouched by wars and disasters. One of the places I visited was the Matsue Shrine, just next to Matsue Castle. Originally founded in 1682 the present shrine is an amalgamation of several different shrines and was in 1899 renamed and established next to the castle as it is today. During it’s long history it has had the duty to enshrine several high ranking feudal lords, among them Naomasu Matsudaira, 松平直政 (obit. 1666, who was the first lord of the powerful clan of Matsudaira and grandson of the most powerful man in Japanese history, Ieyasu Tokugawa. The Matsudairas were to rule the province until the abolition of the feudal system in 1871 on direct orders of the newly powerful emperor Meiji, the great grandfather of the present emperor. Incidentally, for all you trivia fans, the very well known NHK (National Broadcasting company of Japan) news announcer Sadatomo Matsudaira (also famous for his excellent historical documentaries sonotoki rekishi ga ugoita one of the few television programs that I will try to watch) is a descendant of the Matsudaira clan, as are tens of thousands of other Japanese today.

Today the shrine is most famous for being a “love connection” spot. People who visit the shrine are encouraged to pray for success in their love life and the shrine priest prepares heart shaped, pink emas (votive plates) for people to write their prayers of love on and hang at the shrine. It’s one of my guilty pleasures to read these when I visit new shrines, to get an idea of what people pray for. I found this cute prayer from Miwako in Kobe, who very politely wishes for a good boyfriend who doesn’t chase other women around and doesn’t gamble, if possible with similar interests and values, who will give her a long and happy marriage. I hope she is successful, even if the prayer is over a year old by now.









15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. andy1076 said, on November 10, 2011 at 3:24 am

    Wonderful 🙂 i am confused about the statue though? 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 10, 2011 at 6:01 am

      It’s a guardian statue… I am sure someone reading this blog knows much more about them than I do. Lovely patina though!

      Like

  2. brent//BLOG: Link: Now I know what… said, on November 10, 2011 at 3:35 am

    […] Matsue Shrine: I’m pretty sure I walked through this very shrine, and did not make use of its powers. Dammit! […]

    Like

  3. andy1076 said, on November 10, 2011 at 4:25 am

    andy1076 reblogged this on My story to you...

    Like

  4. Emma Reese said, on November 10, 2011 at 5:28 am

    The heart shaped pink ema doesn’t seem to match the old shrine yet is so attractive. It’s a pretty logo. O, how cute and practical Miwako’s wish is! I too hope she’s found her dream lad. (She has no idea her wish was viewed by thousands of your readers all over the world! ^^;)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 10, 2011 at 5:59 am

      I hope so too! One of my favorite things is looking at the ema for all the different shrines I visit. One of the best is the annual ema exhibition at Yasukuni shrine at New Year’s! All the zodiac themed ema from shrines across the country!

      Like

  5. D... said, on November 10, 2011 at 6:53 am

    What a beautiful shrine. There are a few temples, of course not as old, here in Los Angeles. Whenever I visit I feel this serenity, much like when I visit the Chinese Buddhist Temples. But I feel like I have to be quiet, although when they had the a festival it was really lively with kids running around. It was really fun.

    I hope Miwako in Kobe found a wonderful boyfriend too. I don’t think there are expiration dates on prayers, or at least I don’t think that there should be.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 11, 2011 at 1:00 am

      Thank you D! There are so many shrines here that deserve mentioning, but I do not even photograph 1% of the shrines I visit…

      Like

  6. Timi said, on November 10, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I wonder which seems better: the sunshine &good weather (it’s cold here with freezing wind..) or the peace?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 11, 2011 at 1:04 am

      I was there in the late spring/early summer and the weather was amazing. It was on the morning after a typhoon had passed through and the port are saw some flooding but inside the city it was just perfect.

      Like

  7. joseph keating said, on November 15, 2011 at 9:31 am

    Ah so glad you liked Matsue, Atsuko’s home town. We have many pictures from our last visit there though that was before I got a new camera… We are heading back there again in spring to see the family though, I can’t wait. Really enjoying your blog by the way, so often tokyo-blogs are too predictable but you seem to spot the good stuff.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 16, 2011 at 12:21 am

      Thanks Joe! Matsue really is a lovely town! I know it’s on the north coast but it feel just like one of those Kanagawa towns, and it has more history than most towns in the Kanto area! It’s gorgeous. I’ll post plenty more pictures from my trip to Matsue in the coming months! And thank you for the nice comments on my blog! (^-^)

      Like

  8. rommel said, on November 17, 2011 at 3:46 am

    I need to go there! Not that my current relationship is in a turmoil.

    Wow! You got the cities and their modernities and these kinds of place with so much histories. What a great place to settle in.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on November 17, 2011 at 6:20 am

      Thanks Rommel! As much as I love Tokyo I am always tempted to move when I find one of these lovely smaller cities. (^-^)

      Like


Leave a comment