Tokyobling's Blog

Rêve d’Herbert By Compagnie des Quidams

Posted in Places by tokyobling on April 21, 2010

One of the more interesting, conceptually, events at last month’s Roppongi Art night (as mentioned in yesterday’s post) was the performance by French theatre and dance group, Compagnie des Quidams. For some reason I was smack in the middle of it and literally had to duck when those huge creatures ambled past me towards whet I saw as captured sun. Now, the idea of hiding intense lights in a balloon and rising it in the night sky has been on my mind for years and it only stiffened my resolve to one day build one for myself (I’m sure you’ve all seen the commercial by Tropicana by now). When the balloon, or sun, was finally released it really did look like there were two moons over Tokyo that night. The Quidams seem to be one of many recent French groups focusing on huge performance installations. And the Japanese sure love all things French! It reminds me of a robotic spider on the streets of Yokohama last year, I will have to blog about that soon. Enjoy!





2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. eric said, on April 21, 2010 at 2:09 am

    I’m French and I saw this group during a performance in France, near Paris, 2 years ago. It was great !

    I’m happy to discover they have a huge success and now they perform worldwide !

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 26, 2010 at 8:39 am

      Hi Eric, thanks for your comment! Yes, I think their kind of art is the art of future, a spectacle that can be enjoyed as much understood. I am sure we will see more of them or similar groups in the future!

      Like


Leave a comment