Tokyobling's Blog

The Best Shop Guide Ever – Yamaha

Posted in Places, Shops by tokyobling on January 10, 2011

You know how it is when you visit a deparment store or a huge shop with a wide selection of goods: you go to the information desk where you get a pamphlet or you go check out their wall guides, which contains about a bazilion items. Men shoes, are they seperate, under the heading of shoes or mens wear? Am I currently in building B or in the New building or in Old Building Annex 2? Where do they keep traditional lacquer ware? Under household items on floor 5? Gifts on floor 10 or are the cold Ceremonial Boxes?

Especially in Japan, with it’s mix of Hiragana, Katakan, Kanji and Romaji, it becomes very hard to quickly scan the guides for just the information you are looking for.

Not so with this fabulous Yamaha music department store in Tokyo’s Ginza district. They use a visual guide with actual paper craft dioramas of each department store floor! Complete with sales clerks, utilities and customers! You can see exactly what kind of items goes where and what each floor looks like. If you have an image of where you want to go but can’t remember which floor it was, a quick glance at this 3D guide will help you. If you are just browsing and curious to the various services and spaces they offer, nothing beats this visual guide.

I have studied information technology and communication theory since high school, and let me tell you, I am amazed I have never seen this way of presenting a store guide before. Just excellent! Make sure to check it out if you happen to be passing through Ginza. Actually, the whole Yamaha store is just amazing. Beautiful, well designed, great staff and interesting stuff on sale. The whole first floor is a design/event space where you can try out the latest musical gizmos. Yamaha continues to be the most forward thinking music business in the world.







13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chorwin said, on January 10, 2011 at 6:44 am

    nice photos!!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 11, 2011 at 5:19 am

      Thanks for the kind comment Chorwin, always! (^-^)

      Like

  2. kes said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:44 am

    I just love the whole design setup.
    Its nice to see ‘non digital’ things once in a while.
    This design setup makes me think of the 80’s and 90’s.

    I’m sure if you guys ever played with these kind of ‘toys’, but I did a lot during my childhood.

    Each year during autumn and winter our teacher always made us perform a ‘musical’ or ‘fairytale’ for the parents

    Like

    • kes said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:45 am

      *correction: I’m NOT sure if you guys

      Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 12, 2011 at 9:05 am

      I did it as well! I ever remember there was a fantastic Danish TV documentary about these old paper theaters that used to run and rerun on TV at home, subtitles of course. I loved watching it!

      Like

      • kes said, on January 12, 2011 at 9:12 am

        yep… that was excatly those I meant.
        But we didn’t have those nice ‘house’ and ‘interior’ 😀

        Like

        • tokyobling said, on January 12, 2011 at 9:19 am

          I saw recently that there are quite a few publishers printing those in book, for paper craft fans to make their own. If I ever have kids and some free time I will definitely buy a set and make a huge full theater, just like I dreamed of when I was a kid!

          Here’s one of my favorites, Gorey’s Dracula. I would probably build something more classical, to do mini renditions of Mozart operas!

          Like

          • kes said, on January 12, 2011 at 10:42 am

            classy…
            I would defintely buy some too, when I have kids.

            I haven’t decide the design yet… but I guess I would be something like ‘secret garden’ style.
            (and I’ll proberly steal some idea from your photos. – those with the garden exhibition 😀 )

            Like

          • tokyobling said, on January 13, 2011 at 12:56 am

            You might remember a Finnish illustrator I blogged about last year: Klaus Haapaniemi. Def. something to be inspired about!

            Like

  3. Timi said, on January 12, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Eheh, reminds me of my days when I was little, I always played around with something, and we have little paper dolls,with changeable clothes, They would have looked good in a set up like this:D

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on January 13, 2011 at 1:03 am

      Paper dolls! Memories! Actually, the first site I ever designed (it had a blog, but I don’t think it is up any more) in 1996 had a virtual paper doll. It was cutting edge back in the days…

      Like

  4. Ryan Toher said, on March 21, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    do you by chance happen to have the music store’s email address?

    Like


Leave a comment