Tokyobling's Blog

Sekai no Yamachan – Yakitori Restaurant

Posted in Places, Shops by tokyobling on March 3, 2012

A couple of weeks ago I visited one of my favorite Yakitori restaurants, Sekai no Yamachan, this time in Okachimachi (or Ueno, depending on how you see it). Sekai no Yamachan is probably the most famous culinary thing to come out of Nagoya and it was in Nagoya I first tried it a few years ago. Nagoya cuisine is mostly renowned for its use of miso in everything. Sort of like the Koreans and kimchi, Nagoyans like their miso in practically everything! Unlike the miso you’ll find outside of Nagoya, this miso is a thick, spicy, rich, paste which I guess could be an acquired taste but most people will get it quickly. This restaurant is especially famous for its spicy crispy chicken wing plates, tebasaki, if you’re only going to eat tebasaki once in Japan, I think this is the place to do it. When you’re seated you’ll get you chop sticks along with an explanation of how to eat the tebasaki (in my opinion the best part is the pointy end, dry as sand and crispy to perfection), you should end up with just three thin bones! There was also a pamphlet with instructions on simple palm reading – maybe useful to break the ice in conversation?

Yamachan also runs a farm that is open to the public and I think they have a guest house offering farm stay experiences where you can try out rice cultivation by hand and other fun looking stuff, in the town of Nakatsugawa (中津川市) in Aichi prefecture. Every restaurant has a small gift shop where you can buy pretty much the perfect souvenirs for your friends back home. Just writing this blogpost has made me hungry again. Maybe it time to visit Yamachan again tonight?









13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on March 3, 2012 at 4:31 am

    Wait till you taste the yakitori and other chicken dishes at my brother’s restaurant!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:23 pm

      Can’t wait! Let’s promise not to use the menu, let him pick the things we try! (^-^)

      Like

      • JUURI said, on March 9, 2012 at 5:12 pm

        Yay, he always does like that anyway. The food just suddenly starts appearing!

        Like

  2. rommel said, on March 3, 2012 at 5:23 am

    Hi, tokyobling. I will be featuring your blog in a matter of hours. Hope you don’t mind me using one of your images. I’ll make sure to link it to your blog.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:24 pm

      Absolutely no problem! Thanks! (^-^)/

      Like

  3. Vish said, on March 3, 2012 at 6:52 am

    nice, photos have that street life feeling I know and love-only in Japan is it like this, even if other countries have night and life.
    And this place is SO Nagoya, what is in those wings that makes them so addictive?, I have shocked myself and friends by how much of them I can eat.
    thanks for the walk down culinary memory lane where there is a Yamachan on every street, or in Nagoya two on every street(really)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks Vish! Yes these wings are addictive, I haven’t stopped thinking about them a single day… I wonder how long I can last before going again? (^-^;)

      Like

  4. May said, on March 3, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Mmm,,,,the famous Yamachan! I looove tebasaki—! I wanna try when I get to Japan! ( I’m going back in 2 weeks! yay!)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      Really!?! Wow! Welcome back!! For good or just to visit?

      Like

  5. Dugutigui said, on March 3, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Great food, great photos, great description and great Korea … What more could you want?

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      Thanks Dugutigui! (^-^)

      Like

  6. Timi said, on March 4, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    The explanation is a really nice idea, along with the pics 😀 The food seems pretty tasty too!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Thanks Timi! If you ever come to Tokyo I’ll take you here!

      Like


Leave a comment