Tokyobling's Blog

Hamamatsu Castle

Posted in Places by tokyobling on March 6, 2012

One of the many gems of Shizuoka prefecture to the west of Tokyo is Hamamatsu City. Most people in Kanto and indeed the rest of Japan doesn’t consider the city to be very important but with over 800 000 people it is still larger than many European capitals. It is also famous for being the home of Suzuki Motors. Like most other industrial cities in the Kanto area it was largely destroyed in 1945, so most historic buildings are replicas, just like this recently built copy of the original Hamamatsu Castle. Although it is one of the smallest castles (if not the smallest) in Japan it has an illustrious history as one of the core castles held by the without a doubt most important historical figure in Japan, the first Tokugawa shogun, Ieyasu. I have been inside once a few years ago so this bitingly cold winter day I spent my few free minutes in the castle park instead, and managed to get one photo of the only blooming tree in Shizuoka (or at least that’s how I felt it numb from cold and strong winds). The public restroom was amazingly beautiful, which is why I force my poor readers to gaze upon Japanese sanitary architecture at its finest! There was also an interesting sign explaining some of the local kamon (Japanese heraldic clan or family signs) of local nobles and title holders connected to the area around the castle (I believe, the description was a little sketchy, but I think I have readers who are far more steeped in Hamamatsu history than I am). Most Japanese families today have a kamon associated with their lineage or the noble family they served under: you sometimes see these on houses, buildings or the kimono worn during very formal occasions.










18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on March 6, 2012 at 4:36 am

    Indeed the castle looks super tiny but everything seems well kept. I spy another figure braving the cold.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 3:06 pm

      It looks tiny and it is super tiny! (^-^) Yes, there were even a few Chinese tourists when I was there… still can’t forget the cold that day! (^-^;)

      Like

    • JUURI said, on March 9, 2012 at 5:10 pm

      Mama I wonder if this is the castle that Tokugawa Ieyasu retired? In my drama it was called “Senpu” or something like that. I’m glad at least now by the power of NHK drama I can know people better.

      Like

  2. Coal said, on March 6, 2012 at 5:56 am

    Spent many a happy spring and summer afternoon in that there park. Good times good times! Big fan of kamon too. The little icon next to my name is the kamon for the Miki (神酒) clan (though there’s currently only two of us in existence…)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      I can imagine! I love your kamon by the way. Very stylish! I hope the clan grows soon. (^-^)

      Like

  3. penman said, on March 6, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    The castle might be small but it sure is beautiful and has an amazing park. I think I could spend lots of time in that park. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful photos. Makes me want to visit Japan ASAP.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      The park is lovely, water fall and all, and the castle is small enough to be easily visited, and there are a lot of interesting samuri armor suits inside!

      Like

  4. pk1154 said, on March 6, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Pictures of the more …intimate… facilities are something I’d consider a ‘value added’ feature–details often missing from the typical travelogue.

    Hines Park, part of which runs just north of my neighborhood, originally had wonderful facilities, modeled on (if I recall correctly) well-known train stations, in various styles. Many of them have fallen into a state of genteel decline, but the bones are still there.

    For instance: http://www.flickr.com/photos/61694230@N08/6124895233/
    (which would originally have had copper gutters and downspouts and more extensive wrought iron trim)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 8, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      That is a very charming little cottage! How great it must have been with the concession stand. No wonder no one is employed in the west anymore…

      Like

  5. Timi said, on March 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    The last pictures with the trees and river is much closer to me, even if the castle is beautiful o_o

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 11, 2012 at 3:11 am

      Nothing beats nature I guess! (^-^)

      Like

  6. Irina Kolak said, on March 11, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Japanese Tourist Association (or whatever the national organisation for tourism is called) should give you a medal for not only making people come to Japan, but also for bringing tourism to the next level. 🙂

    p.s. Every photo from Shizuoka prefecture is particularly dear to my heart. 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      Haha… I hope they will! Unfortunately, the only time my blog has been featured in Japanese media was when I was mistranslated as saying that the gyudon of Restaurant A was slightly better than Restaurant B. There’s still people arguing about that comment, even though it was a complete mistranslation. At least they think I am an American tourist. (^-^;)

      Like

  7. Irina Kolak said, on March 11, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Their loss. You rock! 🙂

    Like

  8. buildingmybento said, on April 1, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Sanitary architecture, sounds like a good name for a Soapland

    Like

  9. Erica Serpa said, on April 4, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    Amazing pictures!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 4, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      Thank you Erica and welcome to the blog! (^-^)/

      Like


Leave a comment