Tokyobling's Blog

Ginza By Night

Posted in Places by tokyobling on March 12, 2012

I know – I have done this tour before, but I just can’t get enough of this wonderful part of the city, especially in the magic hour, with the blue of the sky and the red of the street lights. The best time of the day to visit Ginza! Even the most intrepid Tokyo explorer (me!) have to admit defeat sometimes though, and this time I was bested in my attempt to walk up to the roof on the Wako building and see the other side of that huge clock: it is said to be the more spectacular side of the clock, but one that is very rarely seen. Unfortunately I learned that the roof is not open to the public. Some day though, I will try and get permission to go up! To drown my sorrows I walked down the main Ginza street and took some more snapshots of Ginza at its best. Besides, you know that you are turning Japanese when the sight of a fish head in the street makes you really really hungry. Enjoy!




Tagged with: , , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angela said, on March 12, 2012 at 6:45 am

    Thanks as always for sharing your wonderful images. I too loved Ginza at this hour. Yesterday was a tough day for all of us who were in Japan on March 11th 2011, lots of memories. Oh how I miss that beautiful country. Yesterday we were working in our garden and I placed my “snow viewing” lantern, (sorry, I can’t remember the Japanese name for it) and lit a small candle in remembrance of those lost last year. I was determined to complete this task as a mark of respect. Peace and love for Japan x

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 12, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      Thank you Angela, for your kind comment! I hope you get a chance to come back and visit soon!

      Like

  2. Ulrik said, on March 12, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Fantastic images as always. These make quite good wallpapers you know 🙂 I hope you manage to see the other side of the clock!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 12, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Thanks Ulrik! I’ll do my best! Oh, and feel free to use these for your wallpaper! (^-^)/

      Like

  3. pk1154 said, on March 12, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Fish cheeks: nuggets of goodness.

    (I obviously have my appetite back.)

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 12, 2012 at 2:48 pm

      Haha… yes! It’s the best part on a fish but very few people know this… (^-^;) Ssshh… don’t spread the word, we have to keep something for ourselves? “Oh, no one wants the head? Well, I’ll take one for the team and take care of it…” (^-^;)

      Like

  4. penman said, on March 13, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    The other day I was reading a post that said it is not possible to take a bad picture in Japan and the first thing that popped inside my head was your blog. I think it’s so true because you always took great shots of Japanese life, like these ones.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 13, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      Haha… that is a nice way of describing Japan! But I think it might be a slight exaggeration… I just have to look at my reject pile…! (^-^;) But thank you so much for your kind words! (^-^)/

      Like

  5. Sabine said, on March 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I had dinner earlier and that fish head (and the prawns on the poster behind it) made me hungry again ._.’

    Ginza really looks utterly stunning. Wouldn’t mind walking around there on a late evening stroll with a loved one.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 8:45 am

      It’s a great place to stroll, so much to see and do! (^-^)

      Like


Leave a comment