Tokyobling's Blog

Asakusa Enka Store

Posted in Places, Shops by tokyobling on March 14, 2012

Have you ever heard of Enka music? The slow, sentimental, old fashioned ballads that the older Japanese can’t get enough of? Here’s a speciality record store in Tokyo’s Asakusa district selling CDs, books, posters and VHS video of the latest and brightest stars on the Enka heaven. Recently there has been as close to a generation shift as you can get in this genre as many young artists have started out on their careers. The young artist who made the biggest splash in the media was Jero (or Jerome Charles White, Jr), the first black Enka singer! Unfortunately I couldn’t find his poster in this store. The enka stores are the last CD shops to have decent sales figures I think, as more and more big name record stores are going out of business, it seems that many of the typical enka generation seems to treasure their older media still. This store is called Miyada, if you ever need to ask for directions. Here’s one of my favorite Enka songs, the super famous classic Akogare no Hawaii Koro from the 1950 movie with the same name with the legendary Haruo Oka (岡晴夫).




6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma Reese said, on March 14, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    I see some familiar faces on the posters (but a bit older than I remember them!) I spy a beautiful Korean singer too! There seem to be more varieties in the styles these days. My favorite is Sayuri Ishikawa! How I wish I could sing like her!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on March 14, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      …And of course I have spent the evening listening to Ms. Ishikawa after you mentioned her! (^-^) She has an amazing soft style…!

      Like

  2. Emma Reese said, on March 14, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Did you listen to 津軽海峡冬景色? That’s her signature song and my favorite!

    Like

  3. D... said, on March 19, 2012 at 2:28 am

    I like Enka music, there is some sort of nostalgic feeling, even though it’s not of my personal past. But a sad resonating sound always speaks to me. I wish we had Enka stores here.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 9:04 am

      I agree! I wasn’t even in Japan during the enka music times, but it still feels nostalgic to me! (^-^)

      Like


Leave a comment