Tokyobling's Blog

Tokyobling And Pinterest

Posted in Stuff by tokyobling on March 24, 2012

Recently I have been getting a lot of hits to my blog from an Internet service called Pinterest. I am sure there are very few people online who haven’t heard of this site so I won’t go into detail about it, but let me just tell you that I think it’s a pretty cool site, with a pretty nice service. Recently though, there has been some debate on the legality of “repinning” images from photographers without their explicit permission, and to put it bluntly, if you don’t have the express permission of the photographer or image rights holder, you are in violation of the copyright law and can be sued (at least in the US). I am personally not a friend of copyright legislation, sure, I don’t want people to use my images if they are going to make money out of them, but I also don’t want anyone to stop themselves from enjoying my photos for fear of violating any US laws. So, here goes, I am hereby giving all Pinterest users permission to repin any of the photos from this blog. No need to ask my permission and I won’t ever get upset or sue anyone. In fact, if you are reading this and a Pinterest user, go ahead and pin something right now! I’d love you to.

If you’re curious about what photos others have pinned from this blog, you can search by tags, like this: http://pinterest.com/source/tokyobling.wordpress.com/

After clicking around on Pinterest for awhile, I think I have an idea of what kind of images are popular so here’s a few that I never saw fit to post until now, a few snaps from the Table Setting Fair held here in Tokyo earlier this year. I have a weak spot for good table setting! I hope more of my photos are pinned after this post!



Tagged with: , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chorwin said, on March 24, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    pinterest is very hot new site among photographers now… quite a number of photographers using it to boost their site visit rate.. interesting…

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 9:49 am

      Absolutely. I don’t care about visitor rates, I just want people to enjoy beautiful images, mine or others! (^-^)

      Like

  2. J (@jatoha) said, on March 24, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I am guilty of pinning your photos, I only recently learned more about the copyright concerns of pinterest. Anyway, thank you for permission, I love your blog.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 9:50 am

      Thank you J! Yes, I’ve seen your pins, you have a good sense! (^-^)/

      Like

  3. paulmerrill said, on March 24, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    Thank you! Bless you!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 9:51 am

      Thank you Paul, for your kind words and support!

      Like

  4. Carrie said, on March 26, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Love the romanesco broccoli and the macarons. They have to be two of the most photogenic foods ever.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 10:00 am

      Haha… absolutely! I don’t know how many millions of people must be using similar images for their desktop background images!

      Like

  5. Jason E. Ballmann said, on March 26, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Yeah Pinterest rocks! Glad you like it. I always love reading your blog so I’ll find you there!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Thanks Jason! Oh, I listened to your music by the way, it is really nice! I love it! (^-^)/

      Like

  6. JUURI said, on March 28, 2012 at 4:42 am

    Thank you so much for your permission! Your photos will be the best examples of Japan on Pinterest since at the moment, not much of anything good pops up with the keyword “Japan.” Lovely Tokobling, as usual. 😉

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on April 3, 2012 at 10:41 am

      Juuri you are much too kind! I really love most of the things I see on Pinterest! I really hope they can keep it going! (^-^)

      Like


Leave a comment