Tokyobling's Blog

Yoshiwara Gionsai – Yodahara Hunks

Posted in Japanese Traditions, People, Places by tokyobling on June 22, 2012

Not sure what it will do for the balance of the men/women ratio on this blog, but I seriously must post these photos from the wonderful Yoshiwara Gionsai festival in Fuji City earlier this month. In this festival, every neighborhood of the city puts up their own “dashi” and make sure it is manned with as many people as possible from the neighborhood itself, each dashi crew is trying to outdo the others in music, performance and style! Although the beauty of the girls representing Rokkencho might have ensured them the top spot this year, no one could help noticing the hunks manning the Yodahara (依田原) dashi! These guys spared nothing when it came to putting on a show! You can tell these guys are no weaklings – two of them have the telltale marks on their shoulders that come from carrying an omikoshi an hour through the streets (not something I think I could survive). I often think Japanese men don’t get the attention they deserve, cute girls tend to steal the show, but I challenge anyone to find a man that matches that almost Schwarzeneggarian smile on the young drummer? Girls – if you’re wondering where all the real men of Japan are hiding out – Shizuoka prefecture might be a good place to start looking!



6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coal said, on June 22, 2012 at 5:03 am

    I think some of their pants are too tight. 😀

    Like

    • D... said, on June 23, 2012 at 4:52 am

      Hmm…those “pants” do a bit more than snug. But they look like a happy bunch. Although if I were at the market and someone came up to me looking wearing the “pants” I think I wouldn’t know what to do.

      Like

      • tokyobling said, on June 23, 2012 at 7:29 am

        Haha… you’d fit right in here in Japan! I think those guys were almost embarrassed by me snapping away at them… (^-^;)

        Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 23, 2012 at 7:25 am

      Haha… looks perfect to me! I wish I had one tenth of their confidence! (^-^;)

      Like

  2. pk1154 said, on June 22, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Those young men look wonderfully buff. *sigh*

    Perhaps I’ll mention that G can use my weight sets on my “off” days. Again. 😉

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on June 23, 2012 at 7:26 am

      Haha… it’s always good to have goals! Go go G! (^O^)/

      Like


Leave a comment