Tokyobling's Blog

Venus Fort – Odaiba

Posted in Places, Shops by tokyobling on June 22, 2013

One of the oddest shopping malls in Tokyo is the Venus Fort on Odaiba. The whole island is a shopper’s paradise but this is the most interesting of them all, from a tourist point of view. The second floor of the mall is designed to look slightly like a tourist vision of a Venetian street, complete with artificial light to simulate day and night, changing every few minutes. I took these random snaps while passing through very close to closing time a couple of months ago. A huge fountain, a “square” at the end of the mall and the entrance to a Chinese restaurant, slightly out of the Italian theme but nevertheless fitting in.

venus_fort_9281

venus_fort_9270

venus_fort_9272

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Una voz en el silencio said, on June 22, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Reblogueó esto en " Una Voz en el Silencio ".

    Like

  2. Creed - The Domestic Goddess said, on June 22, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Looks like a neat shopping mall. I will have to add it to my list of places to check out. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 20, 2013 at 1:55 am

      Thanks! It is one of the better in Japan I think, at least it is different! (^-^;)

      Like

  3. Hangaku Gozen said, on June 22, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    How surreal. It reminds me of a science fiction story in which visitors to a certain amusement park could slip in and out of different historical eras and countries. The Chinese restaurant looks like the entrance to another world. 🙂

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 20, 2013 at 1:56 am

      Haha… it sure does! It is actually really out of place, even in such an out of place-place! (^-^)

      Like

  4. Jonelle Patrick said, on June 23, 2013 at 4:01 am

    I had a strange experience when I was in Las Vegas a couple of years ago and I walked into Caesar’s Palace – it’s EXACTLY like VenusFort! Or maybe I should say, VenusFort is exactly like Caesar’s Palace!

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 20, 2013 at 1:56 am

      Wow, I didn’t know this! Strange how my LV loving friends haven’t told me! (^-^)

      Like

  5. Widya Suryadini said, on June 30, 2013 at 11:19 am

    Did you enter the Car Vintage Museum? I loooove the place!!! It was very unfortunate of me to run out of my camera battery on my visit to Odaiba =(
    yeah I know, even amateur don’t do such foolish thing like running out of battery. Well, I think it just mean that I will have to visit the place again next time I am in Tokyo heheh.

    Like

    • tokyobling said, on July 20, 2013 at 2:31 am

      I didn’t enter this time but I have been many times before! The best thing is that they encourage photography as well. The DeLorean is my favorite! (^-^)

      Like


Leave a comment